android
  #1  
Old 06-18-2009, 11:17 AM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Unhappy Problem with P3 - corrupted files?

Hi - newbie here. Hoping someone can help. I got my first P3 a couple of weeks ago. All was fine for a week(once I started using MediaMonkey) to download my music . I removed my P3 from my PC following synchronising, only to find that all the files had been corrupted and all name tags had chinese symbols and the P3 didn't recognise any files. I could find my music files if I went onto my PC and the P3 played music although I couldn't see what albums/files it was accessing.

Took the unit back to the shop after trying to reset. They provided me with a replacement unit. OK for another week, but exactly the same thing has happened.

Any body has experience of this or am I unique!?!

Help gratefully received etc....
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-18-2009, 11:31 AM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

hmm, use the reset pin on the bottom, and then make sure you are using the latest firmware...
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:38 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks - I've tried to update the firmware thorugh EmoDio, but it states that updates are currently not available. The firmware shows 1.28 EU as the version.

I tried the reset button (several times!), but the problem of the unit not recognising any files still persists.

Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:41 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Get the 2.14 firmware.
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:47 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

thanks - I've downloaded the firmware. How do I update the P3 if I can't use Emodio (apologies if this seems a silly question...)
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:49 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Corruption happens when you unplug the device from the PC while the PC is still writing or reading from it. Open properties of the P3, then Tools, then let Windows check for errors. Reformatting is another option.

In the future, use "Safely Remove" or Eject the P3 before unplugging it. Windows has some housekeeping it does even after all your synced songs are there. Updating the file management table is part of it, and if that gets interrupted the P3 can't locate the beginning and end of files properly.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-18-2009, 02:55 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Many thanks Olley - I assumed this is what may have happened the first time, so I was careful to use the "safely remove" method. It still appears to have resulted in the same problem. It could I guess be an issue with my PC?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:02 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

OK just checked for errors - nothing was identified. If I re-format, what will be the effect, will I just lose my music files or all the other files and programs that came with the unit?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:11 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

You'll lose the music and such. I don't think it deletes everything
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:14 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

bit nervous on the "I don't think it deletes everything" bit! I'd prefer a more positive confirmation that I'm not going to end up with an expensive buzzing external drive!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-18-2009, 03:28 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Smile

Thanks for all the help - I've updated the firmware to 2.14 and all is now well!

Much appreciated.

immoral
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:01 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

The P3 doesn't use a 'safely remove hardware' option- it's safe to remove any time data is not transferring, and this can be determined by glancing at its screen ie anytime when it doesn't say DO NOT DISCONNECT- DATA TRANSFERRING.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:15 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

if that's the case why is there this feature within EmoDio?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:21 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by immoral View Post
if that's the case why is there this feature within EmoDio?
I don't know- I haven't used Emodio since my traumatic experience with it and the T10.
It's much simpler to drag and drop your files using My Computer-P3-Music.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:24 PM
immoral immoral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamnine View Post
I don't know- I haven't used Emodio since my traumatic experience with it and the T10.
It's much simpler to drag and drop your files using My Computer-P3-Music.
I have to agree, I find EmoDio worse than useless!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-18-2009, 04:35 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

2.14 is the latest and best firmware- you shouldn't have any further problems.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-19-2009, 03:22 AM
maderin1's Avatar
maderin1 maderin1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 187
Default

yep, i had this file corruption problem also when i first got the player and random resets with a nice howling of pain before it shut down and restarted, 2.14 seems to have cured that though
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.