android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Sony Walkman > Walkman A Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2009, 05:01 PM
ajai_dev ajai_dev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default AAC/m4a problems with A729.. Whts ur experience with AAC??

Hey everyone i just upgraded from the ZEN to the A729 and it works ok for the most part. Video encoding is still a painful task and i don't have very good settings for its video files will test on.

But whats the most problematic is the m4a files i have are not working very well. I mean they play ok but the player hangs randomly while playing them. MP3 work quite well no problem at all.

The m4a files were originally intended for the ZEN, since i have trans coded several cd's in this format i would rather not re encode every thing again.

I used Nero AAC codec / 1.3.3.0 for the encoding along with that its ARB 192 kbps and its LC AAC.

I tried putting AAC instead of m4a but the player still hung. I also tried upgradeing the firmware.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-03-2009, 12:37 PM
Pierre Pierre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 240
Default

For the video setting it's actually very simple. Download Handbrake (loads of links on here), select the iPod setting and just change 2 numbers somewhere. Again loads of details on these forums, easy to use and find. Works a treat.

I think the Sony players can't play AAC can it...?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-03-2009, 12:50 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

All the Sony players can play AAC (I think file extension must be .m4a though)
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-04-2009, 01:18 AM
codedivine codedivine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Default

I have m4a files bought from iTunes Plus store (i.e. unprotected AAC, at 256 kbps) and they have been working well on a A728 for about 6 months. No hangups or any other issues on the player.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-14-2009, 05:10 PM
ajai_dev ajai_dev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default

Seems there was a problem with the player itself sumthing to do with the mobo i guess :<

I got refunded but they took 5% of the total.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.