android
  #1  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:59 PM
silverwoodchuck47 silverwoodchuck47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Unhappy FM Radio doesn't work anymore

What would kill the FM Radio function on my Fuze?
__________________
8GB Fuze + 8GB class 4 µSDHC
MediaMonkey on Windows 2000
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-08-2009, 10:02 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverwoodchuck47 View Post
What would kill the FM Radio function on my Fuze?
Don't be offended, but I have to ask.....have you tried pushing up on the scroll wheel?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:14 PM
silverwoodchuck47 silverwoodchuck47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Offended? Nah.

The red icon looks like a speaker to me; I guess it's a mute icon. What's confusing is that rotating the wheel changes the volume, which I would think would unmute.

I clicked it and it turned to a green play button. Presto!

Thanks! I thought I wrecked my player.
__________________
8GB Fuze + 8GB class 4 µSDHC
MediaMonkey on Windows 2000
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:16 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverwoodchuck47 View Post
Offended? Nah.

The red icon looks like a speaker to me; I guess it's a mute icon. What's confusing is that rotating the wheel changes the volume, which I would think would unmute.

I clicked it and it turned to a green play button. Presto!

Thanks! I thought I wrecked my player.
Glad I could help.....enjoy your Fuze!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-30-2010, 05:15 PM
ramoru ramoru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Mine stopped working after I connected the mp3 to a travel speaker. Then I read that the antenna is in the headphones so I switched back to my original Sansa headphones, but I still can't get the radio to work anymore. I made sure the mute button was off and the volume was up. Any ideas on how to solve this?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-30-2010, 05:53 PM
oobergeek's Avatar
oobergeek oobergeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada eh.
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramoru View Post
Mine stopped working after I connected the mp3 to a travel speaker. Then I read that the antenna is in the headphones so I switched back to my original Sansa headphones, but I still can't get the radio to work anymore. I made sure the mute button was off and the volume was up. Any ideas on how to solve this?
reinstall the firmware. That should fix the problem.
__________________
How I Roll: 8GB v1 Rockboxed Fuze 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:22 PM
ramoru ramoru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

This may be a dumb question, but how do I uninstall the firmware and then reinstall it? I can't install it manually because Windows won't let me. I installed it using the Sansa updater.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:58 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramoru View Post
This may be a dumb question, but how do I uninstall the firmware and then reinstall it? I can't install it manually because Windows won't let me. I installed it using the Sansa updater.
Here's the basic instructions for installing the firmware. Essentially all you do is is to be sure you're connected in MSC mode and drop the correct firmware into the root of the drive. I'm not quite understanding what you mean when you say Windows won't let you install the firmware. How have you tried previously?

BTW you really should get rid of the Sansa Updater. It's buggy and you really don't need a process continuously running in the background for an update that might occur once every several months.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-30-2010, 08:45 PM
ramoru ramoru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I've read those instructions, and I get stuck on this part:

Quote:
• Once extracted, drag the file to the root directory of your Sansa Fuze
.

Where is the root directory?

When I say Windows won't let me open, it's because instead of dragging the file to the root directory (which I'm not sure how to do), I just right-clicked the file "fuzpa.bin" to open it, and received an error message stating that I don't have the necessary program to open a .bin file.

I hope that makes sense.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:58 PM
ramoru ramoru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Okay, I was able to drag the bin file to the internal memory, which caused the player to update the firmware again, but still no change with the radio. I guess the problem is with the headphones then, but they work fine just playing the music I transferred, so I'm not sure that they are the actual problem.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-07-2011, 06:36 PM
batmo batmo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default FM Radio/Fuze

Hi Everybody---

The Sansa Fuze actually has a defect inherent in its FM tuner. I know because I had the Best Buy protection plan and swapped out THREE Sansas and EACH one had the very same defect: The FM would just stop working at some point and require you to reboot over and over. Eventually, after 2 years, the FM stopped working even after 10 attempts to reboot the system.

I am surprised that this defect was never formally remedied by the company because it has nothing to do with anything but the device malfunctioning.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-13-2011, 09:47 AM
sullydog sullydog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Don't be offended, but I have to ask.....have you tried pushing up on the scroll wheel?

I must say, you are amazing. I have lived with what I considered a broken FM transmitter in my sansa for months now. It was really starting to bother me (hence the googling for solutions). Who knew all I had to do was press up on the scroll wheel! Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-13-2011, 09:51 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sullydog View Post
I must say, you are amazing. I have lived with what I considered a broken FM transmitter in my sansa for months now. It was really starting to bother me (hence the googling for solutions). Who knew all I had to do was press up on the scroll wheel! Thanks!!!
It happened to me, back when I first had the Fuze.....I was baffled for a day or two before I found the answer, then I felt kinda silly...lol. Glad you found the answer!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
fm radio, fuze, radio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.