android
  #1  
Old 07-14-2009, 02:48 AM
dgb52 dgb52 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seal Beach
Posts: 1,021
Default what is replay gain and how does it work

Can someone tell me what replay gain does on the fuze?

and how it works?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:35 AM
Dhraakellian Dhraakellian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Replay gain basically scans the audio files and adds tags telling the player how much to automatically adjust the volume.

In album mode, each album has the same overall volume.
In track mode, each track has the same overall volume, regardless of how loud a track is in relation to the rest of its album.

For a more thorough explanation, linky.

Last edited by Dhraakellian; 07-14-2009 at 10:41 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-24-2009, 07:25 PM
13dp 13dp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Will it work without rockbox? Does album or song play all at the same volume? Should I adjust the pre gain? Its set at 4.5db.
I dont have rockbox , I have V-2, just got it today and couldnt find replay gain in the manual.

Thanks
13Dp
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-24-2009, 07:54 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13dp View Post
Will it work without rockbox? Does album or song play all at the same volume? Should I adjust the pre gain? Its set at 4.5db.
I dont have rockbox , I have V-2, just got it today and couldnt find replay gain in the manual.

Thanks
13Dp
This might help you out some.....http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/boar...hread.id=23310
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:40 AM
Pauliwog's Avatar
Pauliwog Pauliwog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 43
Default

After spending hours with MP3 Gain normalizing my collection, Sansa comes out with this. Oh, well; better late than never.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:28 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Of course, my Zen Mozaic does this for you, with something they call "Smart Volume".(granted, the Mozaic doesn't sound as good as a Clip or Fuze) This would be a nice addition to the Clip, and a lot less hassle for the user than the Replay Gain option on the Fuze (which I haven't bothered with since I don't shuffle all with it).
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:43 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

"Smart Volume" is certainly not very "smart", compared to Replaygain or MP3Gain. I've listened to it a bit, and it really doesn't work well - like your average dynamic compressor. I've also read it uses a lot of battery life (can't verify that since I only tried it for a short time). But on the other hand it's a simple setting on Creative players, with no external apps or knowledge about Replaygain involved. I think it would be better doing it right on a universal level, the Replaygain/MP3Gain treatment, instead of some proprietary solution that only works on one player.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:56 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
"Smart Volume" is certainly not very "smart", compared to Replaygain or MP3Gain. I've listened to it a bit, and it really doesn't work well - like your average dynamic compressor. I've also read it uses a lot of battery life (can't verify that since I only tried it for a short time). But on the other hand it's a simple setting on Creative players, with no external apps or knowledge about Replaygain involved. I think it would be better doing it right on a universal level, the Replaygain/MP3Gain treatment, instead of some proprietary solution that only works on one player.
I don't doubt that it's not as good a solution. But I'm using that player primarily to shuffle all through the aux-in on the stereo at work, where not being suddenly blasted by a much louder song is more important, and overall fidelity is less important, given all the background noise.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-08-2009, 12:19 PM
manoz manoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Default

This feature is pretty awesome and I've gone through my music library selectively choosing which I want to apply gain too. It is a bit unpredictable though and I've added gain to songs I'd rather not have gained. Anyone know how I can delete the replay gain data on some tracks? I've tried both media monkey and winamp to no avail!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-08-2009, 12:47 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Do you mean Replaygain or MP3Gain?

Use Foobar2000 to remove Replaygain info from files, it's the easiest way. Otherwise you could use commandline tools like metamp3.

To remove MP3Gain info, just undo it with MP3GainGUI.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-08-2009, 03:23 PM
manoz manoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Do you mean Replaygain or MP3Gain?

Use Foobar2000 to remove Replaygain info from files, it's the easiest way. Otherwise you could use commandline tools like metamp3.

To remove MP3Gain info, just undo it with MP3GainGUI.
Cheers, I will try Foobar2000, I meant ReplayGain btw.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-08-2009, 03:30 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,625
Default

You're supposed to scan all your files with replaygain, not just certain ones. Doing that will cause annoying jumps in volume. Rather then remove the values, just select each file in foobar, and rescan them.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.