android
  #1  
Old 08-19-2009, 10:50 PM
daftvirgin daftvirgin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Exclamation samsung P3: from MTP to UMS?

Hi everybody,

I want to get a samsung YP-P3 since my old samsung YP-K5 broke. I'm now ATM in China and I saw one at a BestBuy-store. I'm only using linux at home and since the P3 has the MTP format, I can't sync it to my PC. That's why I want to change the protocol format into UMS so I can use it as an USB-device. So, is there any way to change it? If there is, someone please tell me how to do it. I still can sync to a windows OS now, since all the chinese are using windows out here. I'm leaving China in 3 days (I'm leaving the 24th of august), so please hurry.

PS: Thank you all for your effort to help me!

Last edited by daftvirgin; 08-19-2009 at 10:53 PM. Reason: correct gramatical errors
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-20-2009, 05:31 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Yes. In the main menu you can go to System<PC Connectivity and put it in UMS (MSC) mode.

It need never be in MTP mode.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:18 AM
groovyblues's Avatar
groovyblues groovyblues is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 31
Default

i dont get such option in my P3...where r u getting it from dreamnine?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-20-2009, 08:11 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Sorry, I meant to type Settings<System<PC Connection. Then you get the option of UMS or MTP.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-21-2009, 07:19 AM
groovyblues's Avatar
groovyblues groovyblues is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 31
Default

dude ur P3 is sacred....i dont have an icon called pc connectivity in system...
and yeah...
im using 2.18 firmware...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-21-2009, 09:15 AM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovyblues View Post
dude ur P3 is sacred....i dont have an icon called pc connectivity in system...
and yeah...
im using 2.18 firmware...
Urm, I'm using 2.18 and its in there for me... Look harder?
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-21-2009, 12:19 PM
garyk's Avatar
garyk garyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 126
Default

its in system, 4th option down on the list. Between Auto power off and Hold option.
__________________
Without music life would be a mistake.
~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche~
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-21-2009, 12:52 PM
groovyblues's Avatar
groovyblues groovyblues is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 31
Default

correction:Ur P3's are sacred....lolz
my P3 came default in ums mode...and no theres no option called pc connectivity in the system folder....maybe by default its like that...sum new model or so....

hey hey....i just checked the samsung website and came across this...
Connectivity:USB Connection(MTP/UMS) MTP (Europe/North America/Australia) UMS (Other Countries)

So i live in india...i.e asia....hence i wont be getting that option which u guys r talking about....:P
http://www.samsung.com/in/consumer/d...XTL&fullspec=F
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-21-2009, 04:01 PM
garyk's Avatar
garyk garyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 126
Default

by that same standard then i shouldnt have UMS mode available to me along with MTP but i do as does everyone else i believe. I never exactly trust what the sites say..lol.
__________________
Without music life would be a mistake.
~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche~
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-21-2009, 09:49 PM
rick6677 rick6677 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: places...
Posts: 78
Default

ok ignore all the other complicated shit people say UMS will read on just about anything you can plug it into and MTP is more meant to sync with like windows media player and such which then dosent let you browse files on the p3 with ur computer so ALWAYS PICK UMS
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-21-2009, 09:51 PM
rick6677 rick6677 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: places...
Posts: 78
Default

AND YES THERE is A WAY TO CHANGE THE MTP to ums just go to the settings in ur p3 and it will say pc connection and pick UMS
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:07 AM
groovyblues's Avatar
groovyblues groovyblues is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 31
Default

i can give u visual proof that i dont have such option in my P3...besides im alredy in ums so not bothered...
ANY MTP Regions in General: PC Connection in Settings allowing you to switch between UMS and MTP will be enabled. Default PC Connection status will be MTP.
Link:http://www.yjzone.net/showthread.php?t=35600

So only MTP P3's have that option in their settings....we dont have it.....ask othrs if u like to....
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-22-2009, 05:29 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Not having MTP is no loss.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:18 AM
groovyblues's Avatar
groovyblues groovyblues is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 31
Default

Lol....u ppl arguing to the fact that i shud be having that option in my P3 which is making me confused if my P3 has a problem...but it came with ums mode im happy about it neways...
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 08-23-2009, 10:00 AM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Yea, don't worry about it. MTP is crap anyway xD
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
china, mtp, samsung, ums, yp-p3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.