android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung M1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:58 PM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Help Estimate of M1 availability in USA ?

Hi all !

I was about to order P3 3dG from bhphotovideo but read about M1 and decided to wait. Any guesstimate how soon it might available in the USA, based on the fact that it's already(almost) available in South Korea ? Is end of 2009 sounds reasonable ?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:45 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

Yes it sounds reasonable
But we can't be 100% sure as Samsung USA is often late...
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:55 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

All I want for Christmas is a Yepp M-one.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:13 PM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Lebellium, thanks for the feedback !

Another 3-4 months (arrgh !) but microsd slot and AMOLED hopefully will be worth the wait. Meanwhile I ordered a new Sansa Clip+ 8g which is a great player (sadly no BT otherwise it would be nearly perfect for music only)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-04-2009, 02:11 PM
Hi-Tek Hi-Tek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 31
Default

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2352455,00.asp

End of September release? *Crosses fingers that is for both Europe & USA*
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:31 PM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Hi-Tek !

Sadly, I don't think "End of September" means anything, I wish to be wrong but if it's available in Europe/USA before at the end of 2009, that will be a pleasant surprise (based on "waiting for P3" drama) For m1 32G capacity add another few weeks at least, more realistically 2 months.
But who knows, miracles happen
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-08-2009, 08:30 AM
Coolvibes's Avatar
Coolvibes Coolvibes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Yes it sounds reasonable
But we can't be 100% sure as Samsung USA is often late...
Will it be avaible in Europe by End of september?
and when in Spain ?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-08-2009, 08:59 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

No offense, but pcmag is full of shiite!!! Take whatever they say w/a grain of salt.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-08-2009, 12:09 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
No offense, but pcmag is full of shiite!!! Take whatever they say w/a grain of salt.
x2
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-09-2009, 01:58 PM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

M1 hasn't even come out in Korea yet and there seems to be a lot of issues concerning slow touch response and lagging due to Haptic UI in Korean electronic community amongst users and add to the high price (well not really anymore, after whooping $400+ for Touch 3G 32G in Korea). Estimated price of M1 32G is latter $300 as of now.

Kind of funny... but those who sold their 2G 8G has to pay more for 2G 8G now because of Apple's whooping currency conversion........ lol. I think they used 1300-1400 won to $1 range to convert but they used close to 1500 / $1 range for September.... current Korean won to dollar is 1200.... so their whooping pricing policy...

Well, now Touch is out of my choice... Zune > M1 > X1050 (Well, if it ever drops price.. Amazon has them for $285 still) > Touch 3G
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-09-2009, 07:03 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Hopefully soon
But it may end up one of those things that never gets released here.
And if that's the case, go with a ZuneHD, P3, or Cowon S9
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:16 AM
bdroc bdroc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default

my guess is never in the US because of the built in DMB...theyd have to redesign it for a US release...not to mention with the Zune HD and iPod Touch market...it wont sell well....but its everything i want in one player...i love my s9...but this has a speaker, a *microsd slot*....faster UI (with firmware update).....its perfect for me
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-13-2009, 02:50 AM
a_tumiwa's Avatar
a_tumiwa a_tumiwa is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1,058
Default

CMIIW, the article said this M1 is release to Europe next month, and M1 already released to Korea .
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-13-2009, 04:18 AM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

M1 is not released yet in Korea. I can assure you on that. Price hasn't even come out yet. Only those that got selected as reviewers have one on their hands.

And probably only DMB-less version will be available outside of Korea.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-13-2009, 05:54 AM
a_tumiwa's Avatar
a_tumiwa a_tumiwa is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1,058
Default

really?? i think i am luck that my country is the first to release M1 then
mine have DMB , but it is no function, when u click it, it only said "there is no channel available, channel scan is required. Scan again??"
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:38 AM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

DMB only works in Korea unfortunately. I think there is one more European country that works (I'm not too sure). Otherwise, it's a great feature since you will not miss your favorite show...

DMB is pretty new to mp3 players but most Korean cell phones already have had DMB for many years.

Kind of funny though when you see a random guy in a subway with antenna way up in the air.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:40 AM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

From Wikipedia, Indonesia is currently running a trial in Jakarta.

I guess that's the reason why you have DMB version. Enjoy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital...a_Broadcasting
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-13-2009, 09:03 AM
a_tumiwa's Avatar
a_tumiwa a_tumiwa is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1,058
Default

haha, its good news, but the problem is... i am not in Jakarta *sigh T.T
thanks for the info
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-20-2009, 01:19 AM
Chocolate Truffle Chocolate Truffle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Default

M1 will begin taking pre-orders from September 23 to October 7 in Korea. They'll have DMB and DMB-less versions available in Korea.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-21-2009, 11:11 PM
chuck67 chuck67 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strangesweet View Post
M1 will begin taking pre-orders from September 23 to October 7 in Korea. They'll have DMB and DMB-less versions available in Korea.
Do you have a link on where to pre-order it? also do you know if it'll have English language installed on it? thanks
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.