android
  #221  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:01 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Suggestion: Completely drain the battery, till the player won't start. Then charge it and keep it topped off to your hearts content. This should solve the issue, as the battery meter isn't calibrated, and this usually ends the problem.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #222  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:14 PM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghibli View Post
Finally got myself an A846 yesterday. I'd actually given up on it a while back because of the high price but I suddenly managed to find stores slashing the price by S$100 so I jumped at the chance.

Woah, so how much you got it at and where? If cheap enough I can get one to play around lolx
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #223  
Old 06-16-2010, 11:30 PM
Ghibli Ghibli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 43
Default

Teknosaga
Actually I find the PC's battery indicator is even more inaccurate, so I don't bother looking at it. At first I thought it was a thoughtful feature but I realised the battery levels it shows are usually completely random. For example, notice that when the player is plugged in, it should be charging, but my PC will show it to have the same battery level for hours, even when the player says it's full. Don't know if it's just my PC, is yours accurate then?

The DarkSide
Does it count if the player was already completely drained out of the box?

Xinz
Haha Sim Lim, where else? Got my A846 for SGD450, A845 going for under 400 I think...
__________________
Sony Walkman NW-A806, NWZ-W202, NWZ-A846
Nokia E51 non-camera, Samsung S8003 Jet, HTC Desire

Last edited by Ghibli; 06-16-2010 at 11:38 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #224  
Old 06-17-2010, 07:44 AM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 432
Default

hmm if stores are slashing prices perhaps a new model is due....
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

  #225  
Old 06-17-2010, 08:10 AM
Xinz Xinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 336
Default

GHIBI - ok, thanks. Then no thanks lolx. Even more expensive than my d2+, so can't be a player i buy to play around
__________________
I have my C2!!!
Reply With Quote

  #226  
Old 06-17-2010, 12:36 PM
Ghibli Ghibli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascariss View Post
hmm if stores are slashing prices perhaps a new model is due....
I think it's more like stores were having a hard time shifting any at the preposterous original prices... The Walkman brand is not even a default choice for most consumers to begin with.
__________________
Sony Walkman NW-A806, NWZ-W202, NWZ-A846
Nokia E51 non-camera, Samsung S8003 Jet, HTC Desire
Reply With Quote

  #227  
Old 06-20-2010, 11:12 AM
Teknosaga Teknosaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Sigh, I did what was suggested and completely drained the player a couple of times but the indicater was still at a loss. So i brought it back and got a full refund. It might have also had something to do with it not being as pocket friendly as my previous players (cant navigate it blindly when its in my pocket) and the volume. At first i wasnt bothered by the lower volume but later i found out that the player doesnt treat every song the same way. I know not every song is the same but some songs stopped upping the volume at around 20 bars and if you went any further the songs sound levels would jump around. This is on a custom EQ because thats the only way it sounds good for me.

Anyway im looking all over the place for an older S or A series. Ive already found an A826 but im worried about its capacity (4gb) and theres the S738 (8gb) at the Sony Style store which also has NC.

Can anyone tell me if both of those are still as loud as the Walkmans used to be?

Edit: For anyone wondering the volume is low because of the restrictions on audio players in Europe. Nice....the optional volume limit setting is just there to laugh at your dissapointed looking face.

Last edited by Teknosaga; 06-20-2010 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #228  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:57 AM
Ghibli Ghibli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknosaga View Post
At first i wasnt bothered by the lower volume but later i found out that the player doesnt treat every song the same way. I know not every song is the same but some songs stopped upping the volume at around 20 bars and if you went any further the songs sound levels would jump around. This is on a custom EQ because thats the only way it sounds good for me.
Were you using the Dynamic Normalizer?
__________________
Sony Walkman NW-A806, NWZ-W202, NWZ-A846
Nokia E51 non-camera, Samsung S8003 Jet, HTC Desire
Reply With Quote

  #229  
Old 06-21-2010, 07:29 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknosaga View Post
Sigh, I did what was suggested and completely drained the player a couple of times but the indicater was still at a loss. So i brought it back and got a full refund. It might have also had something to do with it not being as pocket friendly as my previous players (cant navigate it blindly when its in my pocket) and the volume. At first i wasnt bothered by the lower volume but later i found out that the player doesnt treat every song the same way. I know not every song is the same but some songs stopped upping the volume at around 20 bars and if you went any further the songs sound levels would jump around. This is on a custom EQ because thats the only way it sounds good for me.

Anyway im looking all over the place for an older S or A series. Ive already found an A826 but im worried about its capacity (4gb) and theres the S738 (8gb) at the Sony Style store which also has NC.

Can anyone tell me if both of those are still as loud as the Walkmans used to be?

Edit: For anyone wondering the volume is low because of the restrictions on audio players in Europe. Nice....the optional volume limit setting is just there to laugh at your dissapointed looking face.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghibli View Post
Were you using the Dynamic Normalizer?
From what is described it sounds like you had a faulty X Walkman. You should have exchanged it first, then gave it a day to test it out.

As for Dynamic Normalizer, it makes all the tracks sound equal in volume. If the volume was jumping all over the place (high & low, up & down,etc) there was something wrong w/the player (X).

Really, 1 lemon isn't indicative of all the X Series Walkman players.
Reply With Quote

  #230  
Old 06-22-2010, 05:59 AM
Teknosaga Teknosaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Nah dynamic normalizer doesnt do much, yes it does up the volume for some songs but the problem still persisted. I tested a whole bunch of songs with the ''enhancements'' on and off and it didnt make a difference.

@the darkside it was an a845 not an x series walkman.

Anyway i just got the s738 in the mail, charging it up as i type this. Im hoping ill have a better experience with this one. Since its the last gen version im optimistic about it.

Thanks for all the help/suggestions you guys made i appreciate it.

Edit: @the darkside you probably meant ''x'' as a variable, lol. I thought you meant the x series.

Last edited by Teknosaga; 06-22-2010 at 06:05 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #231  
Old 06-23-2010, 04:02 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

I accidentally put in X Series, my bad. Still, the new WalkMan you had (a845) most likely was a lemon - but I hope you get great results w/the S738.
Reply With Quote

  #232  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:58 AM
head2head head2head is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default

First post here, but long time lurker!

I've just got an A845 (I'm in the UK) and although the sound quality is generally great, I can hear a fair bit of crackling/popping on occasion. Does anyone else have this problem? Having read a couple of reviews, I'm pretty sure it's not just me

I'm reluctant to return it as I've just returned a sansa clip + (pitch problem and broken clip) and am feeling a bit like I'm never going to find a decent replacement for my A818 .

Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #233  
Old 06-26-2010, 12:41 PM
Ghibli Ghibli is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by head2head View Post
I can hear a fair bit of crackling/popping on occasion. Does anyone else have this problem? Having read a couple of reviews, I'm pretty sure it's not just me
I think I recall experiencing something like that once in a while when I first got my A846. Kinda irritating, but come to think of it I haven't heard anything in the last few weeks, and I use my player for about four hours a day...

The A800 series used to have a similar problem (though not as loud), and Sony released a firmware update that cured it.
__________________
Sony Walkman NW-A806, NWZ-W202, NWZ-A846
Nokia E51 non-camera, Samsung S8003 Jet, HTC Desire
Reply With Quote

  #234  
Old 07-15-2010, 03:14 AM
ACJimbo ACJimbo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 25
Default

guys, here we are!!!!!!

http://presscentre.sony.eu/content/d...2&NewsAreaId=2

Sony finally came to its senses
Reply With Quote

  #235  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:37 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Wow, a 64GB A840, very nice.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #236  
Old 07-15-2010, 09:37 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Gawd DAMN IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I want this!!!!!! 64gb of Sony,...................
Reply With Quote

  #237  
Old 07-15-2010, 10:24 AM
glove4 glove4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 385
Default

Damn, what about a US release?? I want the new E series and the 64gb A series, shoot.
Reply With Quote

  #238  
Old 07-16-2010, 09:37 PM
Curiouss's Avatar
Curiouss Curiouss is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Default

can i have ur X if you get a 64GB A series, TDS?
__________________
gg
Reply With Quote

  #239  
Old 07-17-2010, 03:24 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curiouss View Post
can i have ur X if you get a 64GB A series, TDS?
@TDS: Dude...buddy! Forget Curiouss - he's in Canada for goodness sakes! I am local and can save you shipping charges.

Plus I can bring token payment in the form of beers....

__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #240  
Old 07-17-2010, 03:27 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curiouss View Post
can i have ur X if you get a 64GB A series, TDS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
@TDS: Dude...buddy! Forget Curiouss - he's in Canada for goodness sakes! I am local and can save you shipping charges.

Plus I can bring token payment in the form of beers....

You guys are too late.....the X has moved on.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.