android
  #1  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:36 AM
gino_76ph gino_76ph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 178
Default Archos 5 Internet Tablet Android Questions

Hi. i am very much interested in buying this product and this device really looks brilliant on paper and features and the more i get interested the more questions i want to ask:

1. without wi-fi around i heard you can "tether" it with a 3G mobile phone using bluetooth. is that correct? would that in essence mean using the mobile phone's 3G signal to surf the net via the Archos5 whenever possible?

2. i heard we can use 3-party softwares in order to upload music or photos or videos to the Archos5?

3. is there a Playlist list among the Music menu? can you add and delete songs on-the-fly on a playlist?

4. i read the video playback supports MKV. is this straight out of the player? or do you need a special plug-in or this dock that you need in order to play those MKV files?

5. regarding the apps can you download and upload them via wi-fi onto your Archos5 or do you still need to use a 1st-party or 3rd-party software in order to do that?

6. with GPS will it work anywhere in the world even without w-fi signal or what not?

7. is there a custom EQ/equaliser feature?

8. as regards the FM radio does it have an auto scan and auto save function?

9. can you stream music via bluetooth on a bluetooth-enabled headphone or speaker?

10. would one still need a TV snap-on in order to watch digital TV in the UK/Europe?

11. any UK release date and price please...???

thank you....
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-23-2009, 08:00 AM
EowynCarter EowynCarter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
1. without wi-fi around i heard you can "tether" it with a 3G mobile phone using bluetooth. is that correct? would that in essence mean using the mobile phone's 3G signal to surf the net via the Archos5 whenever possible?
Yes. Admiting you phone is compatible, you provider allows it, and so on

Quote:
2. i heard we can use 3-party softwares in order to upload music or photos or videos to the Archos5?
I tihnk it's ums.

Quote:
4. i read the video playback supports MKV. is this straight out of the player? or do you need a special plug-in or this dock that you need in order to play those MKV files?
I think you might need a plugin

Quote:
10. would one still need a TV snap-on in order to watch digital TV in the UK/Europe?
Yes. (Not sure the existing one is compatible)

Quote:
11. any UK release date and price please...???
Archos website don't sell internationaly ?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-24-2009, 04:30 AM
gino_76ph gino_76ph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 178
Default

and to answer my other questions please if somebody can help me on those ones....

3. is there a Playlist list among the Music menu? can you add and delete songs on-the-fly on a playlist?

5. regarding the apps can you download and upload them via wi-fi onto your Archos5 or do you still need to use a 1st-party or 3rd-party software in order to do that?

6. with GPS will it work anywhere in the world even without w-fi signal or what not?

7. is there a custom EQ/equaliser feature?

8. as regards the FM radio does it have an auto scan and auto save function?

9. can you stream music via bluetooth on a bluetooth-enabled headphone or speaker?

Last edited by gino_76ph; 09-24-2009 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-24-2009, 06:54 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Anyone know a place that has them in stock to sell?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-24-2009, 08:21 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,062
Default

B&H Photo has the Archos 5 for $269.95 ATM. I'm wondering if I should get it for video watching? Seems like a fantastic idea.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-24-2009, 10:24 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

The one you linked to isn't the one with andoid, Darkside. Newegg has a good price too. So does Buy.com and I think most places that carry them are trying to clear their inventory of the old version.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-25-2009, 08:29 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
B&H Photo has the Archos 5 for $269.95 ATM. I'm wondering if I should get it for video watching? Seems like a fantastic idea.
At 250GB, thats like $1 a GB!!

But, it would give you a lot of video!
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-25-2009, 08:36 AM
1shado1 1shado1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Where No Man Has Gone Before: The Planet Phi-Epsilon Nudist Colony For Women
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
B&H Photo has the Archos 5 for $269.95 ATM. I'm wondering if I should get it for video watching? Seems like a fantastic idea.
For that price, it might be worth the possible headaches. I like mine for the most part (typing this reply on it, lol). It is so nice to just be able to throw most videos on this thing, instead of having to transcode them for my Zunes.

Did you sell your Zune 120? I see that you have a Cowon S9 now.
__________________
Archos 5 250GB
Archos 605 WiFi 30GB (x2)
Microsoft Zune 30GB (red) w/80GB Drive
Microsoft Zune 30GB (black)
SanDisk Sansa e260v2 4GB (w/2GB card)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:41 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shado1 View Post
For that price, it might be worth the possible headaches. I like mine for the most part (typing this reply on it, lol). It is so nice to just be able to throw most videos on this thing, instead of having to transcode them for my Zunes.

Did you sell your Zune 120? I see that you have a Cowon S9 now.
Yeah, I sold it about a week or so ago. I've had the S9 for some time now. I bought a Cowon O2 from EnzoTen in the classifieds (great for video on the go for my little 1 and me), happy w/my decision.

Last edited by The DarkSide; 09-25-2009 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.