android
  #1  
Old 10-08-2009, 07:28 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default Zune HD Wallpaper Development Kit

This development kit is designed to help you lay out your design around the various elements on the Zune HD's lock screen.



Photoshop & GIMP Edition
The WDK requires Photoshop and allows you to add and remove the various design elements. It also allows you to try different click times since some times take up more space than others. ABI member Electron confirmed that this PSD works with free editing program GIMP! Download the Windows version of GIMP here. or other OSes here.



ABI Wallpapers are included to give you an example of how you can use this WDK to make your own wallpapers. Please feel free to remix these ABI wallpapers and post them to the ABI Logo Wallpaper thread.



Download Zune WDK

Transparent PNG Layout
This PNG will allow you to layout your wallpapers with other programs.


How to Post and Upload Your Zune HD Wallpapers

Please follow these guidelines closely so that it keeps this sub forum neat and organized.
  1. Create a 480x272 Wallpaper
    • Download the Zune WDK
    • OR Download the transparent PNG
    • OR create your own fron scratch
  2. Create a Photo Album and Upload Your Wallpaper Set
    • Click on "community" in the top bar then go to "pictures & albums"
    • Scroll to the bottom and click "Add Album"
    • Create one album for each wallpaper set [Example]
    • Click Upload photos
  3. Create a thread and Post your photos to this subforum [Example]
  4. Remember to rate the threads

Helpful tips:
  • Use the Zune WDK to layout your design and use the space creatively around the different elements.
  • Original work is best, but if you do use another person's artwork or photographs, please get their permission and site the source. Even if it is under the creative commons license, please site the source since its a nice thing to do.

If you have an questions or tips to add, please post them below.



Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-13-2009, 02:58 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

tested and confirmed: for those of you who do not have Photoshop, the .psd file works just fine in GIMP.
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-13-2009, 03:07 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electron View Post
tested and confirmed: for those of you who do not have Photoshop, the .psd file works just fine in GIMP.
Awesome news! thanks for testing. I included the download links to Gimp above.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-13-2009, 03:55 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnzoTen View Post
Awesome news! thanks for testing. I included the download links to Gimp above.
yup! no problem

in fact, for you GIMP users out there, I converted the .psd into a GIMP document (.xcf)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Zune HD WDK.xcf.zip (127.8 KB, 41 views)
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!

Last edited by electron; 10-13-2009 at 04:04 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-13-2009, 04:08 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electron View Post
tested and confirmed: for those of you who do not have Photoshop, the .psd file works just fine in GIMP.
As well as Ulead/Corel Photoimpact...
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-13-2009, 04:09 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electron View Post
yup! no problem

in fact, for you GIMP users out there, I converted the .psd into a GIMP document (.xcf)
cool i added it to the zip file, thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-13-2009, 07:03 PM
j4r3du j4r3du is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 77
Default

Whenever I copy over wallpapers or any pictures for that matter the Zune software resizes them and makes them crappy quality.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-13-2009, 07:35 PM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j4r3du View Post
Whenever I copy over wallpapers or any pictures for that matter the Zune software resizes them and makes them crappy quality.
Anyone else seeing this?

someone (sorry i deleted it to clean up the thread) earlier said that the stock images are 484 by 272, perhaps this is the issue?

The ones that i made look like the originals.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:01 PM
Fallstar's Avatar
Fallstar Fallstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 222
Default

The PSD file can also be opened in Paint Shop Pro X2 without any issues.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:33 PM
Nightstar Nightstar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 94
Default

I get an out of memory error when I try to open in PS-6. Yes I know it older than the hills but like it... The PNG open ok!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-14-2009, 04:08 PM
j4r3du j4r3du is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnzoTen View Post
Anyone else seeing this?

someone (sorry i deleted it to clean up the thread) earlier said that the stock images are 484 by 272, perhaps this is the issue?

The ones that i made look like the originals.
That may be the issue as I was using 480x272 pictures. Thanks i'll try it out.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-17-2009, 02:53 PM
Curiouss's Avatar
Curiouss Curiouss is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Default

umm... noob question, but how do I resize the pictures? and how do I add the clock thing to the picture, or is it optional?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-17-2009, 07:03 PM
Fallstar's Avatar
Fallstar Fallstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curiouss View Post
umm... noob question, but how do I resize the pictures? and how do I add the clock thing to the picture, or is it optional?
You can use just about any graphics program, including Paint, to resize your images. Most programs let you crop down to the same aspect ratio first before resizing, that way your picture won't become distorted or stretched the wrong way. The clock overlay is only to show you how your background would look if someone had the clock turned on (I don't). So you wouldn't want to add it to your picture.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
wallpapers, zune, zune hd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.