android
  #1  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:30 PM
Jonny88 Jonny88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default Samsung P3 track queuing

Hi,

I'm currently looking to upgrade my 16GB Sansa e280 with something with higher capacity and more modern. I'm looking at the P3, but I need to know if it has one essential feature - does it allow me to add albums, artists and tracks to the currently playing playlist? I used to do this on my Rio Carbon (with firmware upgrade) and it was great to be able to make up playlists on the train etc whilst listening to music. The Sansa lacked this and I was greatly disappointed. If the P3 does lack this feature then can anybody recommend something in a similar price bracket that does, most important features are that it has 16-32GB storage (more is fine I guess) and will work in UMS or MSC mode (not just MTP) as I use linux as well as windows. I read a thread about the P2 which said it can be done using the built in playlists but that sounds like a bit of a workaround and is obviously an older player anyway so perhaps things have changed?

Thanks
Jonny
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:37 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

You can add what's now playing to any one of five user playlists (or delete).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:05 PM
Jonny88 Jonny88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Hi,
Thanks for the quick reply, I'm not 100% sure thats what I meant though.
What I want to do for example is be playing everything buy Reel Big Fish, and then while that is playing I decide I would also like to hear some of The Specials, so I want to append The Specials to the currently playing list, and then I decide I want to add an album by The Stranglers to the list and then a single song by another band etc
I could do this on my Rio and I know iPods can do it, both you browse the song and click something like "append to playlist" on the sansa all you can do is add a currently playing song to the "go list" which is something different as it means you cannot make a real on the go playlist without stopping and starting the music playing.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:12 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Then, no. Cowons just have the one dynamic play list, Sansas 2 if you include rated tracks and Samsungs the 5 playlists. Sonys have none.

I'm not sure about the Zune, Creative or iRiver.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:17 PM
Jonny88 Jonny88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

OK, thanks for that, I don't want a creative or zune as they won't work in linux properly afaik and they are more expensive, looks like a P3 but such a shame it doesn't have on the fly playlists. Cant seem to find any at a good price in stock either (UK)
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:24 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Do play.com not even have the 16GB in stock? Probably the only B&M to have them is Argos.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:27 PM
Jonny88 Jonny88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

No, they are out off stock on all of them and Argos is really expensive
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:30 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

You could get the new Sansa Clip+ 8GB for 49.99 at Currys and add a 16Gb Micro SD to it. I got one this week. Pretty cheap for 24Gb of space.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:18 PM
pigs_fly's Avatar
pigs_fly pigs_fly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Default

i was just reading the review and heres what it said:

"Playlists / Bookmarks Unfortunately there are not bookmarks for audio, but Samung does allow you to make up to five playlists on the go, more than most players in terms of on-the-go playlists. Playlists cannot be renamed and appear on the device as “playlist 1”, “playlist 2”, etc. Of course you can put as many playlists on the device which can be made on your desktop computer using any number of desktop media players."
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:02 PM
shinobi00 shinobi00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 274
Default

Umm it does. Heres a trick I've been using since the t10:

1 . On the now playing screen of your current song press the menu button.
2. Add it to a playlist.
3. Go to whatever album, and add what songs you want on your playlist.
4. Go to the playlist you just added the songs to.
5. Select the first song you added(should be playing), and it will play the rest of the songs in order.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-16-2009, 11:35 AM
Jonny88 Jonny88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks,
that sounds like what I'm looking for, can I add an entire album to playlist in that way or just single songs? also what is the maximum number of tracks in each playlist?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-16-2009, 11:39 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

I believe it's 400 for each playlist - I could be wrong. Maybe 200.

Last edited by Dreamnine; 10-16-2009 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-16-2009, 01:33 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

It's 400 on my P3. It ignores all entries past 400.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-18-2009, 03:50 AM
Yazad Yazad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bahrain, Middle East
Posts: 121
Default

Why don't u get a creative player like the Zen, Zen X-Fi or Zen X-Fi 2. The Zii egg might have that feature too. I know that my zen and the x-fi's do have that feature. Very useful.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-18-2009, 01:08 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomCat39 View Post
It's 400 on my P3. It ignores all entries past 400.
I think mine stops at 200.

Yea, 200. Dunno why. It's really annoying and odd.
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-19-2009, 09:57 AM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triarii117 View Post
I think mine stops at 200.

Yea, 200. Dunno why. It's really annoying and odd.
You did tell me you use the built in 5 playlists.

I don't, I make my own spl files with a few different tools.

Maybe the built in playlists is 200 cap and the external playlists cap at 400?

I haven't actually tested but I'm pretty sure that you can add tracks to the non built in playlists too. I've seen the option "add to playlist" when in my playlists. They happen to be maxed so, I never used the feature.... But I have seen it.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-20-2009, 08:26 AM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Well if there was a way to add things to the Now Playing, I'd be able to find out.
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-20-2009, 01:46 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triarii117 View Post
Well if there was a way to add things to the Now Playing, I'd be able to find out.
As far as I know, "the now playing" goes directly tro whatever playlist you last were listening to, so add to command should add to whatever list you last had active as long as it's within the native maximums of the playlists.

I will test this and get back to you in the next day or two.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-20-2009, 02:31 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

Ok. Thanks.
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-21-2009, 07:49 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

I inadvertently left my P3 at work today so the test will have to wait until tomorrow night.

Sorry about that.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.