android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Sony Walkman > Walkman S Series

Old 12-16-2009, 09:56 AM

Help Got a s544 for my daughter, how do I put cds/dvds on it? i know nothing!

Hi, thanks for your help; I am totally new to this world! I just got a NWZS544PNKB for my daughter for Christmas and havenít ever used one of these before. Iím using a pretty new Toshiba laptop, running Vista, Windows Media Player 11 and Microsoft Office 2003; but I donít understand a lot of technical jargon!
  • What is the easiest, fastest way to transfer songs/whole albums to my mp3 from cds that Iíve ripped and still have good quality (I donít understand a lot of the conversations on other threads about all of the different settings)?
  • How in the world do I transfer a store-bought dvd movie to my mp3 (do I really have to download some software, and, if so, what is the best/most reputable free one)?

Thanks again for your help!!!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-16-2009, 10:12 AM
Visiting troll from Pocketables

This should help you understand the conversations around file formats and settings: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...at-roundup.php

As for converting video, it's very likely to be a lot more work than it's worth- and you might not get it working at all. The thing is, the Sony is very picky about what video files it take. The listed specs aren't really true as there are a bazillion reasons why it won't take a file that should work. Handbrake is an application that in theory should be able to rip the dvds and maybe have them play on the Sony if you're lucky, but frankly I'd suggest stocking up on analgesics before trying it. The S540 is rather low-end when it comes to video capabilities.

Old 12-16-2009, 10:20 AM

wow, thanks for your help! that's disappointing about the movies... do you have any other resommendations about that? should i take it back and get something else that WILL let you do that?

Old 12-16-2009, 11:08 AM

Quote: