android
  #1  
Old 12-25-2009, 04:51 AM
ebyss's Avatar
ebyss ebyss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Help Bluetooth PIN code reset or bypass?

Merry Christmas all!

Is there a way to bypass or reset the BT PIN code on the P3?

I sent my wife's unit off for repair (defective battery) and I've got someone else's unit back. I know this as I wiped the memory prior to sending off and the one I've got back has some AC-DC, The Who and other stuff on it (hey, it could be worse!).

Previously, I could just connect directly to identified BT devices without a PIN but now I'm getting the "Enter PIN Code" prompt when trying to connect. In the manual it says the default is 0000 and you only get a prompt when the PIN has been changed.

Can I get around this without wiping the memory does anyone know?

Thanks
__________________
All the games have gotta go, man. 'Cos it's all one, big, plastic hassle
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-26-2009, 11:02 PM
triarii117's Avatar
triarii117 triarii117 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 554
Default

I usually just use the PIN I put in on the other device I am trying to link the P3 with.
__________________
PMPs: Cowon J3, Samsung P3(touchscreen problems), Creative Zen (4GB, black)
Headphones: Panasonic RP-HTX7, Philips, JVC Marshmallow IEMS (why not)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-27-2009, 04:16 AM
ebyss's Avatar
ebyss ebyss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Default

I need a way of resetting the PIN code, as I've got someone's else's unit back from Repairtech and I have no idea what the previous owner set the code to! :-D

Would formatting the memory restore the default PIN code can anyone advise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by triarii117 View Post
I usually just use the PIN I put in on the other device I am trying to link the P3 with.
__________________
All the games have gotta go, man. 'Cos it's all one, big, plastic hassle
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:54 PM
ebyss's Avatar
ebyss ebyss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Default

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller..? Bueller..?

Please don't make me phone Samsung. Again! ;-)
__________________
All the games have gotta go, man. 'Cos it's all one, big, plastic hassle
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-04-2010, 07:02 AM
PeThree PeThree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Did you try the Reset-Button?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-04-2010, 09:34 AM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

I don't believe the P3 keeps tabs on the pin codes as a general default, only as a device specific profile upon connection. From what I gather, it prompts when the default 0000 fails or it's never connected to that device before. If it's prompting you, try the typicals like 0000, 1111, 1234.

I'm willing to bet that the device you used to connect to, you originally typed in the pin once and it kept the pin to that device in it's respected profile.

Also it could be the device you are connecting to, they usually have a limit of how many devices they "remember". If you have all the slots full, it may just refuse the connection.

Boiling it all down, I doubt it's the P3 as much as the device(s) you are trying to connect to.

Just be sure to delete all devices in the P3 BT menu and start from scratch. I believe any PINs it stores are in the device profile created upon first connection/pairing.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-10-2010, 05:35 AM
ebyss's Avatar
ebyss ebyss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, England
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomCat39 View Post
I don't believe the P3 keeps tabs on the pin codes as a general default, only as a device specific profile upon connection. From what I gather, it prompts when the default 0000 fails or it's never connected to that device before. If it's prompting you, try the typicals like 0000, 1111, 1234.

I'm willing to bet that the device you used to connect to, you originally typed in the pin once and it kept the pin to that device in it's respected profile.

Also it could be the device you are connecting to, they usually have a limit of how many devices they "remember". If you have all the slots full, it may just refuse the connection.

Boiling it all down, I doubt it's the P3 as much as the device(s) you are trying to connect to.

Just be sure to delete all devices in the P3 BT menu and start from scratch. I believe any PINs it stores are in the device profile created upon first connection/pairing.
Hmmm... None of the defaults work (0000, 1234, etc).

I tried resetting the P3 - no joy.

I tried resetting the device (a Soundblade) - again, no joy.

Samsung told me using the P3 reset should work, but it didn't.

I don't have any devices to delete in the BT menu - nothing is stored.

EDIT: I just tried resetting both devices and on rebooting and trying to reconnect, the P3 gave me a "Connect to device? Yes/No" prompt - it crashed the first time I selected yes and froze, but on the second time it appears to have worked okay. Thanks for the help!
__________________
All the games have gotta go, man. 'Cos it's all one, big, plastic hassle

Last edited by ebyss; 01-10-2010 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-20-2010, 02:31 AM
gate2lambert gate2lambert is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Really informative post. Like this post, it's disturbing but very informative.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:19 AM
Carsten Carsten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 264
Default

try to connect to your pc and delete the config folder....

for me it helped.....(because i forgot the pin)
moreover the list of bt devices will be deleted....

formating doesn´t help because these files were saved and then wrote in the memory after formating.... ;D
__________________
Player: YP-P3 JEB/XEG @16GB
IEMs: Sennheiser CX300-II Precision
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.