android
  #61  
Old 02-16-2010, 09:33 AM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Maybe you could put some darker green in it, so you got a brighter and a darker green. The RGB Value is: 32,138,39 . I tried it on the player, looks pretty good to me.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #62  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:09 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idroy View Post
Maybe you could put some darker green in it, so you got a brighter and a darker green. The RGB Value is: 32,138,39 . I tried it on the player, looks pretty good to me.
Added to the last space of palette 2.

Now I need 5 more colors for palette 3. And I'm wondering if we could perhaps sort the list in some logical way before I add them so I don't have to re-arrange all the program lines to get a good layout of the colors. It'll look scrambled if I just add colors to the end of the list.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #63  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:58 AM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Hmm, would be nice to order them in logical way. But I don't know in what sort of order. Like all the greens next to each other, and all the red colors (red, pink... etc) next to each other...etc. etc.
Reply With Quote

  #64  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:08 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Couple of suggestions:
- Fill tool
- Option to change the background colour (As in not just black or white)
Reply With Quote

  #65  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:01 PM
Les23 Les23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rome
Posts: 38
Default

from the darkest to the brightest
Reply With Quote

  #66  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:28 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertsAccount View Post
Couple of suggestions:
- Fill tool
- Option to change the background colour (As in not just black or white)
That would be nice. I am not sure if my knowledge of LUA and the code is enough to do it, but I might give it a shot after I've fixed the color palette. Otherwise I have to leave that up to cilmaviel who's better than me at this =P
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #67  
Old 02-16-2010, 02:09 PM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Still need some colors?

Mint Blue: 17, 250 , 238
Sort of Navy Blue: 8, 79, 115
Dark Purple: 97, 0, 133
Greenish Blue: 0, 186, 152
Grey: 128, 126, 126

I think that will be enough :P. Hope you like them :P

Edit: I'm not really sure about the purple btw, you might already have it implemented.
Reply With Quote

  #68  
Old 02-16-2010, 02:15 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idroy View Post
Still need some colors?

Mint Blue: 17, 250 , 238
Sort of Navy Blue: 8, 79, 115
Dark Purple: 97, 0, 133
Greenish Blue: 0, 186, 152
Grey: 128, 126, 126

I think that will be enough :P. Hope you like them :P

Edit: I'm not really sure about the purple btw, you might already have it implemented.
i'll check them out, and if the purple is too similar I'll exclude it =P

And I wonder if there is an automatic "color sorter" on the net where I can enter the rgb and it tells me what order they should be.

Edit: I might just sort them after which colors seem to fit well next to each other =P As it is now the first is with the main colors, then the others could be just with other colors that are similar. So it'd all be according to my taste in colors xD It's the quickest way, but it wouldn't be "by the book". What do you say?
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^

Last edited by Habhome; 02-16-2010 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #69  
Old 02-16-2010, 02:58 PM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
i'll check them out, and if the purple is too similar I'll exclude it =P

And I wonder if there is an automatic "color sorter" on the net where I can enter the rgb and it tells me what order they should be.

Edit: I might just sort them after which colors seem to fit well next to each other =P As it is now the first is with the main colors, then the others could be just with other colors that are similar. So it'd all be according to my taste in colors xD It's the quickest way, but it wouldn't be "by the book". What do you say?
Sounds good enough for me .
Reply With Quote

  #70  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:04 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

I thought I'd make a release of the V 1.7 with only two color menus, so you people can try it out already.

Keep in mind, my release isn't an "official" new paint version unless Cilmaviel makes it one.

Known issues:
Often flickers when you try to exit and might require you to press the button twice.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Paint 1.7.zip (113.9 KB, 60 views)
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #71  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:27 AM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
I thought I'd make a release of the V 1.7 with only two color menus, so you people can try it out already.

Keep in mind, my release isn't an "official" new paint version unless Cilmaviel makes it one.

Known issues:
Often flickers when you try to exit and might require you to press the button twice.
Tested it, works like a charm
Reply With Quote

  #72  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:06 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Keep in mind, my release isn't an "official" new paint version unless Cilmaviel makes it one.
sure,this can be the official version for 1.7, it works great. if you are working on even more colors, might i suggest one for shades of green, one for shades of blue and so on. i am working on a way to save the background so a drop down can be used but i think still having the colors would be good for those that are not used to using rgb sliders.
Reply With Quote

  #73  
Old 02-17-2010, 02:57 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cilmaviel View Post
sure,this can be the official version for 1.7, it works great. if you are working on even more colors, might i suggest one for shades of green, one for shades of blue and so on. i am working on a way to save the background so a drop down can be used but i think still having the colors would be good for those that are not used to using rgb sliders.
Yes, I was thinking about something like that. To have the first menu with the "basic" colors. Then one for shades of every of those basic colors.
But the problem is how I should decide on what other colors to use, like purple, brown, orange. In what categories should I sort those, they are mixtures of the colors, not just a different shade of it.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #74  
Old 02-18-2010, 01:19 AM
G.Ri G.Ri is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Default

It would be amazing if there was a color wheel or RGB sliders. I don't really have a preference between the two. But since that would require figuring out how to save the screen, I have a suggestion on how to organize colors on the current layout. You could resize the buttons for each color so 7 (and a "next" button) would all fit on the left. I don't think it would make it too small to still select with your finger. Then you could put red orange yellow green blue purple and black/white on the screen all at once and the next palette of colors could be lighter and darker shades.
Reply With Quote

  #75  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:31 PM
CleverBullet's Avatar
CleverBullet CleverBullet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 12
Default

It appears to me when painting on screen i am able to temporarily able to paint on the ui before it redraws the menu elements and goes away. there might be a way to prevent this with some sort of collision detection for the ui borders. just a suggestion.
Reply With Quote

  #76  
Old 03-02-2010, 06:22 PM
Tetrajak Tetrajak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceania
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Ri View Post
It would be amazing if there was a color wheel or RGB sliders. I don't really have a preference between the two. But since that would require figuring out how to save the screen, I have a suggestion on how to organize colors on the current layout. You could resize the buttons for each color so 7 (and a "next" button) would all fit on the left. I don't think it would make it too small to still select with your finger. Then you could put red orange yellow green blue purple and black/white on the screen all at once and the next palette of colors could be lighter and darker shades.
I think RGB sliders is a great idea and will be the most space-saving implementation of colour selection, it'd also be easy to calculate.

With that, you could do away with the colour palette and have just background and foreground colour, with the ability to switch between them at the touch of a screen button.

EDIT: I have created an initial colour slider library. I will be improving the display, graphics, etc. in time. You can take a look at the development thread here; http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=53044. Alternatively you can check out the finished version, here; http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=53079

EDIT2: Would it be possible to convert the pixel colour value rgb to hex using string.format("%x", colour_here) and then storing all those pixel values in a .lua file, seperated by commas? That might be an easy way to operate temporary storage, although I guess it depends on the X-Fi2's file reading speed. Every operation would have to be written to the temporary file.

On another note, it would be awesome to have a zoom function somewhere in the future so that pixel art would be easier to do on the touch screen.

Last edited by Tetrajak; 03-03-2010 at 11:17 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #77  
Old 10-28-2010, 10:32 AM
leon1z leon1z is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

can you make a save - load function 4 this app plzz
Reply With Quote

  #78  
Old 06-21-2011, 07:44 AM
Kalle Kula Kalle Kula is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 39
Default save/load using bits

Quote:
Originally Posted by cilmaviel View Post
there is good and bad news about saving. first i did manage to get a save working...kinda ( touch.move only records points and drawline connects them, so far only the points are saved) but a bigger problem is that it works fine on the simulator but it makes the player crash, my guess is that it is too much for it to handle...much like if you try v1.2 on the sim there is no lag.

where is the code for the saving version if anyone has some ideas for optimization
http://www.mediafire.com/?jj2qdnii2gn
to save, hold down the home button

so instead of a save ill work on other things to add, i should have a new version soon unless i hit any problems.

I have done a save/load that's working using this version. (still some small bugs)
It's using some bits-tweaking, cause you only need four bits to store up to sixteen colours, an 50*240 array instead of 400*240

what shall i do with the code?
Reply With Quote

  #79  
Old 06-21-2011, 08:37 AM
jbob182's Avatar
jbob182 jbob182 is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The U.S.A.
Posts: 554
Default

It is possible to save with the player, using something quite similar to Pingus' engine. If you are intersted, i can implement a save feature.
Reply With Quote

  #80  
Old 06-22-2011, 11:59 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Yes, please do implement one (Seeing as Cilmaviel is not around, and I've been on the project I decide I can give you permission, being a mod helps my authority as well xD)
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.