android
  #21  
Old 02-07-2010, 07:08 AM
pritchard92 pritchard92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Default

@TomCat39:

If I couldn't boot the device, A windows machine in a perfectly working state couldn't recognise the device, and my Linux laptop (arch linux, configured from scratch) could not recognise the device, how could I have wiped the device? I'm not a stranger to tinkering either - I previously owned a Sony Ericsson phone, which I flashed and configured to run Walkman firmware. I flashed a PSP for custom firmware, recently set-up a personal home file and media server running Arch Linux. But for this one I'm stumped. And I'm quite frankly sick of trying. I could ask for a replacement from PLAY.com, but eventually they'll start asking questions about why they keep breaking. Questions that I seriously cannot answer. And so, they'll refuse to refund or replace the P3 - In which case, I'll be 100 down. A 100 that I could have saved to spend on a different device.

So you see my problem.
I really do wish the P3 worked for me - I found it a beautiful device, even pitched up against my friends Cowon S9 - I much preferred the P3. And he admitted, that he kind of did too, apart from the S9's AMOLED screen (which is stunning, btw).
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-06-2010, 04:25 AM
robind robind is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 8
Angry

I got the problem on two different P3. The first one was returned to the shop, the second is between my hands...
I am going out for a week, but I will definitely investigate the problem. Hardware failure or firmware problem.

It happened when I tried to load more than 20GB at once in my 32GB P3 player.

I will check back this thread in a week.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:50 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

I just loaded 26gb of tunes on mine last night, and it's running sweet. I hope I don't have any issues myself, and I've only had a Q2 die in the household.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 03-06-2010, 07:43 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

You cannot load more than 20Gb on your mp3 player in one go and then complain because it broke.
That's not recommended on any mp3 player!! That is a challenge for the library!
If it still works, okay, you're lucky, but if it breaks, that's your fault
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 03-14-2010 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:50 AM
robind robind is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks, nice troll from a person with contacts at Samsung.

If Samsung is selling a 32GB version of the P3, it has to work in any normal conditions of use. The P2 never exposed this problem when it was fully loaded.

If the ipod or another large brand was exposing the same issue, there would already be a class action filled.

Conclusion : I will check for a recovery method on the web. If there is none, I will return my 2nd dead P3 to the shop and get a refund.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 03-14-2010, 10:46 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

That wasn't a troll and has nothing to do with my Samsung contacts...My contacts are only useful to help you. Without them and me, you wouldn't have firmwares that fix some bugs etc

To load 30Gb files in one go is not a normal use for me. Okay we can discuss about it but don't need to call me a troll...

Conclusion: do what you want I don't care but beware of your language.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:42 PM
DragonBottles's Avatar
DragonBottles DragonBottles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Isle of Wight, UK
Posts: 349
Default

I never had a problem with loading a lot of music onto it at once...

Why isn't there a warning about this anywhere in the manual or online?
__________________
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 03-15-2010, 04:43 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

I loaded quite a bit of music on my P3 and had no issues, and I do it all the time - I did it with the Cowon S9 as well. The player has no real issue with this AFAIK, and it's not something people should be warned about.

As for the name calling, chill out, or go elsewhere please.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 04-01-2010, 05:46 AM
Turist Turist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 20
Default

Exactly the same problem was with my YPT9. Some mp3 tags (in russian) were the issue.

The device locked up during library update and was unable to boot up correctly afterwards. But it was possible to unplug it, reset and reconnect to the pc before it boots up - it went to UMS mode and it was possible to delete the "corruppted" mp3`s.

sad that nothing changed since than, Samsung should consider such issues.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 04-12-2010, 04:40 PM
logik logik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 30
Default

this is one of them moments where a compatable version of FWDN would come in handy (samsung? Will you help?),

For advanced people:
Use the dissassembly guide to get inside the player,
try disconnecting the battery for a day then re-connect,
Power up,
if this fails, return...

For the hacker(-ish) people:
try battery method or next method:
This assumes that samsung has left debug code in their firmware...
Open up player using the guide,
There is a (likely serial)debug port next to the button/speaker connector inside the player,
find out which pin is which (should be similar to P2's, but i don't trust),
hook debug port to com port and ssh/telnet/hyperterminal into the port,
hold down reset,
attach usb to p3 and pc,
press power and release reset before releasing power
see if you can get a reading from debug port via ssh/telnet/hyperterminal,
If not, try inserting a 'newline' or 'carriage return' character to the port,
if there is still no response then I wont be able to help further,
if there is a response, please upload the response(s) even if they don't seem important(thanks in advanced).

i hope this fixes the problem, or that any info gathered helps fix the problem,
else it's likely dead/defective hardware.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 04-13-2010, 02:14 AM
debianite debianite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hi pritchard92!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pritchard92 View Post
I'm furious. I plug it in to update music, or re-sync songs aftering update their ID3 tags. It goes okay. I disconnect. It says it's updating the library. Then - Nothing. No reset, doesn't charge. Just a black screen, and reset button that obviously does nothing, even when I hear the click.

The first one I sent back to play.com who replaced it, eventually. But after this, I'm sick of it breaking.

Anyone have any idea on how to fix this? If not:

What else is there in the market? Cowon S9 - a bit too expensive, and it uses mainly MTP (I'm on linux - dodgy compatibility there). Ipod Touch - wouldnt touch it with a barge pole tbh. Samsung P3 - ehm, no thanks.

Ideas?
Thanks.
Sorry to hear that - the same happened to me last Saturday. My player was 1 week old then and before it worked perfectly well. I contacted Samsung-support, but all they said was, that I should return it - so I do now.

However I'm using a SanDisk Fuze player with the same machine and there never was any similar problem like that with Samsung. So I guess it has something to do with the player itself...

Good luck!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.