android
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:32 PM
baconhead40 baconhead40 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default Internet

Why did the x-fi have internet, but the x-fi 2 not? it seems stupid to me realy, or is there a way to get it?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:58 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Unfortunately the ZEN X-Fi2 doesn't have Wi-Fi, the only reasons I can think of for not including this feature is to save weight/size, or to cut the price
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:02 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

I think it is as RA says. But from what I have gathered, the X-Fi didn't have a web browser or anything, it could only stream music over the Wi-Fi. Wasn't it like that? And in which case I am glad they removed it to cut the price, because having Wi-Fi and no way of accessing the interwebz would be useless imo. Then again, I never owned one so I might have misunderstood.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^

Last edited by Habhome; 02-22-2010 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:11 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

The wireless feautres were used not to browse the web, but to stream music/podcasts (as HabHome said), update RSS feeds and chat to friends on various different IM services such as Windows Live Messenger.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:15 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Chatting, perhaps the only useful thing about it then.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:08 PM
Idroy's Avatar
Idroy Idroy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
Chatting, perhaps the only useful thing about it then.
Yeah but you must chat with 9 buttons, just like sending a textmessage on a mobilephone.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-23-2010, 01:25 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idroy View Post
Yeah but you must chat with 9 buttons, just like sending a textmessage on a mobilephone.
Presicely
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:11 AM
skippo95 skippo95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default wirerless internet

is there a way to get wirerless internet on the zen xfi2
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:13 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

No way since there is no wifi chip
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:17 AM
skippo95 skippo95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

k thanks
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:17 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

lebellium is indeed correct There is no way to receive wifi on the ZEN X-Fi2.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-07-2010, 07:09 PM
Tetrajak Tetrajak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceania
Posts: 124
Default

Wish there was, then we could have made multi-player apps for it.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-12-2010, 04:19 PM
JoshBULLiT JoshBULLiT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I am not sure but could you put a wifi chip in it and hook it up but i would not do as I don't have a clue what I would have been doing
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-12-2010, 04:39 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshBULLiT View Post
I am not sure but could you put a wifi chip in it and hook it up but i would not do as I don't have a clue what I would have been doing
Anything's possible of course. But you'd have to hook it up correctly without messing the player, if there even is a possible connection for it in the player hardware. Then you'd have to rewrite the firmware yourself to make it utilize your built in WiFi-chip.
So it'd be kind of like making your own player from scratch, except you have a shell and some electronics you might be able to use.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:55 PM
JoshBULLiT JoshBULLiT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

So you have to be a genius to do it
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:11 PM
JoshBULLiT JoshBULLiT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Hey guys
In a past post I sent that you could place a wi-fi card in the x-fi 2 but then you will need to make a new firmware and program it so you have to be a clever man
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-19-2010, 02:49 PM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Noticed we had two thread about this issue, I've merged them now.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
x-fi, x-fi2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.