android
  #1  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:08 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Cool Cowon O2 for the masses:

I have 1 on the way, so I'll be using it as a video only player myself. The Audio playback is really only a factor for me in respect to playback w/my shows and movies, so I should be fine ***crosses fingers***.

Last edited by The DarkSide; 02-07-2010 at 11:53 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:11 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

That's what it does, the only thing it does: it plays videos. A really good thing if you don't have to transcode 99% of your stuff anymore.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:33 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
That's what it does, the only thing it does: it plays videos. A really good thing if you don't have to transcode 99% of your stuff anymore.
Thanks dfkt, now I'm 100% sure I made the right decision!!!

Also, big thanks to EnzoTen as well!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-26-2009, 07:19 AM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

Darkside, yes, it plays anything. Its real nice. And it plays smoothly.

Audio does sound good when you use it. But its just the UI that makes that more un-enjoyable. But, typical Cowon sound.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-26-2009, 07:24 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I would say it's technically even better than typical Cowon sound. The O2's TI Davinci has less hiss, roll-off, and crosstalk than Cowon's usual Wolfson implementations.

Of course that doesn't help when there's no BBE/EQ in video mode, and the gaps between audio tracks are longer than the tracks themselves.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:29 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Well, I'm keeping it as a video only portable, so it should be sufficient for my needs. Then again, I could alway resell it and get the Archos 5 250gb for video. Either way I'm still doing OK.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:34 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You're doing fine, the O2 does play videos. No matter how annoyed I am about the many little idiotic shortcomings of the firmware - it DOES play videos.

And instead of an EQ I frankenstein'ed my iBasso T4 to give me acceptable bass.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:07 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You're doing fine, the O2 does play videos. No matter how annoyed I am about the many little idiotic shortcomings of the firmware - it DOES play videos.

And instead of an EQ I frankenstein'ed my iBasso T4 to give me acceptable bass.
Heh, gotta' do what you gotta' do. No Archos 5 for me then. Thanks, now I'm really happy.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:11 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

How's the O2 battery life?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:16 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Supposed to be pretty solid for vids. Audio 18hrs, video 8hrs. I'll be doing video only.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:28 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Make that 4-5 hours for video, and 10-12 hours for audio in reality. With the screen brightness turned down.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:38 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Make that 4-5 hours for video, and 10-12 hours for audio in reality. With the screen brightness turned down.
Well, then I may actually need the Archos after all,................
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-26-2009, 07:11 PM
TwystedMonkey TwystedMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 102
Default

From what I remember about the Archos 5 the O2 absolutely destroys it in terms of battery life....

That and to be able to play half the video types the O2 does out of the box get ready to give Archos more money..... It was a 20 bucks per codec pack last time I checked...
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-27-2009, 01:25 PM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

agree with twystedmonkey. The Archos battery is on weaker side. The screen is bigger, higher res=battery drain. I looked into the older Archos 5, and the batteries were abysmal.

The o2 is a truly hardcore vid player. You wont be disappointed.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:05 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

I have it, and I absolutely LOVE IT!!!!! The O2 is the SHIT!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:11 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

LOL... let's see what you say tomorrow.

(Split the thread from the firmware thread, by the way...)
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:17 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
LOL... let's see what you say tomorrow.

(Split the thread from the firmware thread, by the way...)
Oh, your funny,................
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:55 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I have it, and I absolutely LOVE IT!!!!! The O2 is the SHIT!!!!!!!
I was gonna saybut then I remembered that I'd seen it already, both in the review and in the classifieds. Glad to hear you like it!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:57 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,038
Default

Considering how I can set the O2 to start by playing the show/movie I was looking at last, in the same place I left off at, I'm happy as a pig in poop!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the damn thing.

Now, as mentioned by dfkt in the past, I wish it had the exact same UI as the D2. Then it would be the perfect friggin' shizzle people!!!!!!!!! Well, battery life can always be better - but it's sufficient for my needs.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:48 AM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

DS, you need to jump on the "new UI bandwagon" for the O2!
Currently, 100% of o2 owners are on board.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.