android
  #81  
Old 03-28-2010, 02:07 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrauber View Post
Unsurprisingly, this is very buggy. But it works! AWESOME
It doesn't seem to save your settings after restart. And playlists don't work. My two main gripes. Maybe there's a patch to fix this...
It's been said several times now. In this build the memory is READ ONLY. The "bugs" as you call them would require writes to memory.

Externally created playlists work just fine.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #82  
Old 03-28-2010, 02:27 PM
Nuntius's Avatar
Nuntius Nuntius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
It's been said several times now. In this build the memory is READ ONLY. The "bugs" as you call them would require writes to memory.

Externally created playlists work just fine.
Will it be READ-WRITE one day?
Reply With Quote

  #83  
Old 03-28-2010, 02:30 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuntius View Post
Will it be READ-WRITE one day?
Sure when the port is finished, just look at some of the other finished ones.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #84  
Old 03-28-2010, 03:48 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuntius View Post
Will it be READ-WRITE one day?
That's the plan. They just have to figure out how...
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #85  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:31 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
It's been said several times now. In this build the memory is READ ONLY. The "bugs" as you call them would require writes to memory.

Externally created playlists work just fine.
It isn't reading playlists for me either. I don't think that requires writing...But hey, I can't complain. It's close.

(Can it write to an external msd? This could be a temporary fix...)

Also, is this record time for a decently working rockbox build? The + just came out like 6 months ago.

Edit: m3u playlists are actually working, I wast just thrown off by the little "can't access playlist control" error every time you play a song. Doubtless do to read-only-ness.
edit 2: oh wait, msd is read-only too.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com

Last edited by ultrauber; 03-28-2010 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #86  
Old 03-29-2010, 02:18 AM
Nuntius's Avatar
Nuntius Nuntius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default

The volume level can't lower that much. Is it a known "bug"?
Reply With Quote

  #87  
Old 03-29-2010, 06:43 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuntius View Post
The volume level can't lower that much. Is it a known "bug"?
Yes, I just forgot to add it to http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS , will do!
Reply With Quote

  #88  
Old 03-29-2010, 09:34 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Incredible that people cannot read at least a few posts in this thread before posting all their "bug reports". I know it won't help against ignorance, but I added the read-only part to the first post in this thread.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #89  
Old 03-29-2010, 10:23 AM
solomonella solomonella is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 57
Default

^true that

my rockboxed clip+ is still very much alive ang kickin'! "fingers-crossed"
Reply With Quote

  #90  
Old 03-29-2010, 11:07 AM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Incredible that people cannot read at least a few posts in this thread before posting all their "bug reports". I know it won't help against ignorance, but I added the read-only part to the first post in this thread.
I knew it was read-only.
I read the first two pages of this thread as well as the port page. I just didn't make the connection between my problems and read-only.
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #91  
Old 03-29-2010, 11:21 AM
Nuntius's Avatar
Nuntius Nuntius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Incredible that people cannot read at least a few posts in this thread before posting all their "bug reports". I know it won't help against ignorance, but I added the read-only part to the first post in this thread.
Well I follow this thread since the begining but I must have missed that post (if it exists). Some tolerance is needed here!
Reply With Quote

  #92  
Old 03-30-2010, 03:06 AM
maporter1968's Avatar
maporter1968 maporter1968 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default

I'd just like to say a big thank you to dfkt & SANZA for both posting there config files, I found them both a great help in sorting out my Rockbox installation - Thanks guys!

I realise I'm probably teaching you to 'suck eggs' but I added the following command to my config file, it's useful as it lights up the screen on first key-press rather than jumping back a screen to a menu option.

"backlight filters first keypress: on"

Now that I've got my config file sorted the only thing that I notice is that when I boot my Clip+ up into Rockbox, I'm always greeted with a box that say's "nothing to resume". This flashes up for about a second before I'm presented with the main menu - Is this normal or is it something in my config file?

Last edited by maporter1968; 03-30-2010 at 04:14 AM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote

  #93  
Old 03-30-2010, 05:34 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The "nothing to resume" message is also related to the memory being read-only.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #94  
Old 03-31-2010, 02:32 AM
JanDo JanDo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hello all!

I tested RB at my Sansa Clip+ 8GB.
And get playback time at flac 8level compression at 75% volume - about 14hours!
At same material at OF playback time only 7hours! Tested at RB r25376

However, I noticed that while playing the track stretched. 10 minutes track played 10 minutes 8 seconds (or at 1.33% slower than the original). Tested at RB r25376-r25406
Reply With Quote

  #95  
Old 03-31-2010, 04:08 AM
zozzul zozzul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanDo View Post
playback time at flac 8level compression at 75% volume - about 14hours!
14 hours with Rockbox vs 7 with OF? Not the other way around ?
I woke up in a wrong universe - in the old one Rockbox had issues with the fm chip draining the battery even when not used (plus maybe some clocks were set too high) and the Clip runtime wasn't that good yet.

Could someone please confirm the new runtime?
Reply With Quote

  #96  
Old 03-31-2010, 05:02 AM
JanDo JanDo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zozzul View Post
Could someone please confirm the new runtime?
see topic about Clip v2 runtime under 13 hours.

But current version of RB have many restrictions - no flash write's(energy-consuming operation), slowing playback(may be CPU clock set to small value)
Reply With Quote

  #97  
Old 03-31-2010, 06:47 AM
zozzul zozzul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you, JanDo... That's a jaw-dropping news... 14± hours...
My respect for Rockbox devs has reached the moon...
Reply With Quote

  #98  
Old 03-31-2010, 02:47 PM
nick_sub nick_sub is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Just bought a Clip+. Not going to Rockbox it quite yet but will definately once it's a bit more stable.

Could someone who has tried it please tell me if the database scans both the internal and SD memory? Folder navigation is great, but not so good if your music is split between different cards.
Reply With Quote

  #99  
Old 03-31-2010, 02:53 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_sub View Post
Could someone who has tried it please tell me if the database scans both the internal and SD memory? Folder navigation is great, but not so good if your music is split between different cards.
In a fully functional version of Rockbox, yes, the database integrates content from internal and external memory. Until the Clip+ gains write access, however, the database feature won't be usable on that particular port.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #100  
Old 03-31-2010, 03:23 PM
nick_sub nick_sub is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks. Rockbox does everything right it seems. Hopefully they'll crack the write problem soon but I'll be patient. It'll be interesting to see how quickly it can index a full card once it's working as the OF is pretty slow from what I've heard.

I wouldn't have bought the Clip if it wasn't for RB. It's a shame manufacturers don't support it because it would genuinely boost sales and provide us with better devices. However, I read on Wikipedia that Sansa are the first manufacturer to request Rockbox development on one of their devices - good for them.

Are there any confirmed brickings yet?
__________________
iriver H320 (30GB) | Sansa Clip+ (8GB + 8GB uSD)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.