android
  #1  
Old 03-30-2010, 09:18 AM
colorrit colorrit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Help NWZ-S545 volume IS TOO LOW

I have just bought a NWZ-S545 and upgraded to firmware 1.01.

The volume is too low, probably because of the EU volume directives. So I wonder is it possible to replace the european version 1.01 with the US firmware 1.01

http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...=5493&os_id=44

Filename :
NWZ-S540_V1_01.exe

Version :

1.01

Last Modified :
02/01/2010



Note on the web site: This utility is only for use with the products identified and sold in United States, Latin America, or Canada. Not all models are sold in all countries.

Can it damage the player to use the US version instead of the eu version?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-02-2010, 04:12 AM
colorrit colorrit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

The player is updated with the US firmware, no damage but same volume level.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-02-2010, 09:04 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

No volume issues here!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-21-2010, 04:25 PM
Stagg Stagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Has anyone the solution? i have the same problem, i'm from Spain, and the volume is really looooooooooooooooow!!!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-21-2010, 04:29 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagg View Post
Has anyone the solution? i have the same problem, i'm from Spain, and the volume is really looooooooooooooooow!!!
Only idea I can give you is find some different earphones....sorry.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-21-2010, 07:46 PM
creative creative is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

lol i have same problem to i think every 1 has i even changed my headphones same problem
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-22-2010, 05:16 PM
Stagg Stagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Only idea I can give you is find some different earphones....sorry.
Nope, I have others earphones (Sennheiser CX 3000-II) in other MP3 is excelent but the problem is in the 545 ARGGGG!!

When i'm traveling in subway i'm very sad to waste my money in this, seriously, the sound is great but only when i'm in a close site, when i walk in tto a city or in the subway...bufff...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-22-2010, 05:19 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

It must be that meddlesome EU.....because my USA S545 is very loud.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-22-2010, 05:34 PM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 434
Default

hmm I thought that the EU walkmans were not capped anymore? my X series is louder than my 818.
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-23-2010, 07:06 AM
Stagg Stagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, i think is for EU directives, has anyone test with USA firmware? in others players this will fix this problem.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-23-2010, 07:28 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

It seems to be some Sonys - my X is the loudest player I've ever had and I've never had a player that's volume-capped whether it's Sony (X, S639), Cowon (i9, E2) or Samsung (P3, T10).
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-05-2010, 10:05 AM
Amar89 Amar89 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Dude, you are just plain wrong. It must have something to do with EU Electronics Legislation because I do not have that problem and I know of 3 other people with S545's who don't either.

I have an Australian NWZ-S545 and the volume beyond levels 13 or 14 blows my ears off.
I haven't even attempted to bump it up beyond 15, even if I'm on a crowded train in the morning.

This is one of the loudest Mp3 players I've ever had. Especially with the supplied earphones.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-13-2010, 04:09 PM
Steve Vee Steve Vee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default AVLS Limiter on?

Does your unit have AVLS turned on (should be under Common Settings)?

The AVLS (Automatic Volume Limiter System) which is the function to limit the maximum volume to prevent auditory disturbance or distraction may be enabled.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-19-2010, 11:52 PM
schattenmann schattenmann is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amar89 View Post
Dude, you are just plain wrong. It must have something to do with EU Electronics Legislation because I do not have that problem and I know of 3 other people with S545's who don't either.

I have an Australian NWZ-S545 and the volume beyond levels 13 or 14 blows my ears off.
I haven't even attempted to bump it up beyond 15, even if I'm on a crowded train in the morning.

This is one of the loudest Mp3 players I've ever had. Especially with the supplied earphones.
Hello Amar89...

My Name is Stephan. Im from Germany and I have bought the NWZ S545 with the European Firmware. The volume is disappointing low and Ive made desperate efforts to get the original US Firmware (1.00) or any alterative Firmware but I found nothing. Could you please do me a favour and Upload your Firmware?
You are my last hope...
Thank you for reading this.
Best wishes

Stephan
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-20-2010, 01:47 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Stephan: Welcome to ABi...

I am not sure this would work in any event. Reports seem to indicate that the HW/FW relationship on EU Sony devices is quite rigid and I believe it makes it nigh impossible to "trick" a device in the manner you are attempting.

I am not 100% sure of this so do wait for confirmation.

I know that many folks have tried to bypass this silly EU thing and have failed on Sony devices AFAIK.

Indeed, other manufacturers [e.g. Sandisk, Cowon, etc] do allow for this sort of simple bypass of the EU volume restrictions.

sorry...
-les
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-20-2010, 03:50 AM
vegetaleb vegetaleb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 59
Default

I had a A805 from France and I tried to update it with US FW then in the service menu select US too but it didn't change a thing
I think the hardware is limited, I remember that I have read somewhere that EU version have weaker audio chip frequency output.
That's a reason why I took samsung P2 and P3 instead
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:52 PM
siha siha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 5
Default

Thought I'd register to share a bit of news. After reading another thread where they give a key sequence to a service menu (which doesn't work on the S545) I tried something similar and viola - a service menu:

Switch on.
Press and hold the back button to get to the main menu.
Switch 'Hold' on
Press and hold 'Option', whilst it is held down press 'Back', U, R, D, L, U, R, D, L, 'Play'
You should now have a service menu.

Go down to 'Audio', then Right and down to 'MAXOUT', this will drive a 1Khz tone out of the Headphones at max volume With the AVLS FULLY OFF. Press 'Option' to toggle the AVLS on/off. Pressing the vol+/- will switch the sound between headphones, speakers and lineout (WMPORT).

Anyway. Make sure it says 'AVLS OFF', then scroll over and down to 'Shutdown', then right to 'Sure?' to shutdown. Switch 'Hold' off, turn on and play something loud. You should find (if you already had AVLS turned off in the settings) that it is considerably louder than before. Note, that if AVLS is turned on in the settings, this will have no effect, it needs to be off before going into the service menu.

I don't think this removes the limitation completely, as US / Aus owners report that >15 is too loud, but it does seem to remove any firmware limit.

Test
After doing this, go in to the Menu and turn AVLS on - it get's quiet, right?
Now turn it back off - it's still quiet.
Now go back to the service menu and and do it again. Turning AVLS on in the settings will mean you have to do this again.

The EU versions obviously have a different hardware build to reduce the volume, but it seems that there is still a firmware limit that reduces the volume slightly even with AVLS off in the settings. Running the Audio test in the service menu seems to remove the limit and set it to the proper 'Maximum' for the hardware.

Anyway, I hope this info proves useful to someone. A combination of turning the equalization to 'None' and doing the above means I now have a Walkman that is (just about) loud enough.

Cheers,
Simon

Last edited by siha; 02-03-2011 at 03:03 PM. Reason: Forgot something
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-03-2011, 03:40 PM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 434
Default

can you check to see if your radio goes above 90Mhz now
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-04-2011, 02:13 AM
siha siha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ascariss View Post
can you check to see if your radio goes above 90Mhz now
Yes it does, but it always has done.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-04-2011, 02:37 AM
Ascariss's Avatar
Ascariss Ascariss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siha View Post
Yes it does, but it always has done.
uhm it shouldn't, all none japanese units have their fm radio go all the way up to 108Mhz, not 90Mhz.
__________________
-Ascariss - Sony Crew
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.