android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen X-Fi2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2010, 02:17 AM
JD_THEBEST's Avatar
JD_THEBEST JD_THEBEST is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wentworth, Australia
Posts: 18
Default Is It Possiable to Upgrade the Zen X-fi2 Screen to Capacitive

Hi everyone i am just wondering if you can replace the touchscreen in the zen x-fi2.
Because mine is brused and its not very sensitive
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-11-2010, 03:00 AM
3vil7ree 3vil7ree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 19
Default

Problem is- unless you replace the scren with the same (exact) type of screen you may find that the firmware wont support it. You know like drivers on your computer. Maybe you could if you could hack the firmware to support it before pluging the replacement in.

Also take note that most of the problems with the touchscreen ain't because of the screen itself, but problems with the firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-11-2010, 06:10 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3vil7ree View Post
Also take note that most of the problems with the touchscreen ain't because of the screen itself, but problems with the firmware.
Very true... The X-Fi2's firmware is very slow and clunky. It could do with much improvement.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-11-2010, 09:16 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

I would not recommend to change the screen by yourself unless you're a professional or a knowledgeable amateur, and to change the type of screen would be even less recommended, as there's a very slim chance of getting it to work.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-11-2010, 03:31 PM
JD_THEBEST's Avatar
JD_THEBEST JD_THEBEST is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wentworth, Australia
Posts: 18
Default

I know a fair bit about pcs/i build them but its proberly better that i don't try to upgrade the zen X-Fi2. i will just send it back to creative to get rid of the bruse on the screen.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-11-2010, 04:23 PM
3vil7ree 3vil7ree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 19
Default

Thats for the best- I built the computer I'm using right now but I wouldn't know where to start with my Zen. Tho.... If can fix most problems with C64s... I feel old
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-11-2010, 05:34 PM
JD_THEBEST's Avatar
JD_THEBEST JD_THEBEST is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wentworth, Australia
Posts: 18
Default

I wouldn't know how to use a c64 im only 13 i haven't seen a c64 before. I will have to replace the screen in my old x-fi because it cracked, but i don't think i will try to replace a touchscreen in a player thats only 1 day old
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-11-2010, 06:13 PM
3vil7ree 3vil7ree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 19
Default

Man your too young. Grab the next issue of the E-Zine as there is some info on the C64 in there. Thats Issue 2 out at the end of the month
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
capacitive, screen, upgrade, zen x-fi2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.