android
  #1  
Old 04-17-2010, 08:37 AM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default Avrcp 1.3

I've just purchased a new car and the stereo has AVRCP 1.3 support. Does anyone know if the P3 has full 1.3 support? I'd like to be able to control the player completely through the car stereo system. (track name displayed, etc.)

Thank you
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-17-2010, 01:36 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisam View Post
I've just purchased a new car and the stereo has AVRCP 1.3 support. Does anyone know if the P3 has full 1.3 support? I'd like to be able to control the player completely through the car stereo system. (track name displayed, etc.)

Thank you
If you have a P3, you could try it out and let the rest of us know. That type of information is usually buried and is only known if someone tries it and reports back.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-17-2010, 01:53 PM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I don't have a P3 but I will buy one if this feature is available.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-17-2010, 07:52 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

Unfortunately, I don't have a BT head unit that supports metadata to test with the P3. Why don't you buy a P3 from a retailer with a good return policy and test it yourself. If it doesn't work, return it and no harm is done.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-19-2010, 03:00 PM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

It doesn't seem that Best Buy sells the P3 in the store. (At least not according to the web site) I'll have to take a look there and see if they do.

In the meantime I contacted Samsung customer support and after going through several people there I finally got the answer I was hoping for. The P3 does indeed have avrcp 1.3 support. Of course they wouldn't guarantee that it would work with my head unit unless it was a samsung but more than likely it should work without an issue. I guess I'll be buying a P3!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 10:00 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisam View Post
It doesn't seem that Best Buy sells the P3 in the store. (At least not according to the web site) I'll have to take a look there and see if they do.
If its online only, you can always have your local store order it into thier inventory and pick it up there. It takes a few days but no shipping fees and you can return at the store if you are not satisfied.

Good luck and let us know your results if you buy it.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-21-2010, 05:10 PM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I don't need 32 GB which is what Best Buy sells. I am going to order it from Amazon next week. I will definitely post my results here.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-21-2010, 10:24 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-24-2010, 01:28 PM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Well, sadly, it does not work the way I want it to. The P3 does connect to my car head unit without a hitch but none of the metadata displays. I'm really bummed.

Anyone want to buy a P3 cheap? lol

It is a nice MP3 player, I'm sure I'll find a use for it.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-24-2010, 05:34 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

The problem is that the AVRCP version is rarely precised in a product description....
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-24-2010, 09:33 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisam View Post
Well, sadly, it does not work the way I want it to. The P3 does connect to my car head unit without a hitch but none of the metadata displays. I'm really bummed.

Anyone want to buy a P3 cheap? lol

It is a nice MP3 player, I'm sure I'll find a use for it.
Wasn't expecting to hear back so soon. Sorry to here it didn't work.

I'm kinda not suprised. A BT 2.1 +EDR AVRCP device should have this ability because I believe AVRCP 1.3 pre-dates BT 2.1 +EDR. I think it was rolled out about the time BT 2.0 hit the streets. On the other hand, Samsung may have felt metadata wasn't necessary and disabled that part of the AVRCP 1.3 profile.

Also, it isn't uncommon for devices to fail to detect valid profiles supported on both sides of a connection during the pairing process. The reasons are unknown to me but i've seen a fair amount of that with phones, headphones, and computers. Deleting and repairing will sometimes help but it's really hit or miss.

You probably have tried disconnecting and reconnecting to see if it picked up the metadata in a post pairing reconnect. You probably also tried deleting the partnership on both sides and reforming it again to see if it was just a glitch.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-25-2010, 09:29 AM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Yes, I decided to order it sooner and with Amazon Prime I got it in a day.

I did all of the above, un-paired and re-paired. It seems to be that the bluetooth profiles in the device determine what is available. I have to hook up through the headphone profile so therefore there is no need for song track info. I have a feeling the cell phone profile offers everything however I can't use that to pair with the car.

Regardless, the sound is fantastic. I know bluetooth isn't the best way to transfer music but I'm not overly picky. Bluetooth with the P3 sounds better than the aux choice with my sansa fuze. The aux connector in the car doesn't seem to be the best. Unfortunately there is no USB option, that would be the way to go and I absolutely refuse to buy an ipod (there is a connector kit available).

I plan to use the P3 even though I won't be able to select songs through the head unit. The only problem is it seems that when I paired the P3 it knocked my cell phone off. I can pair up to 8 units with the car but something has corrupted my phone connection so I'll have to see if I can get the two items to coexist peacefully. If not, the cell phone is going to win.

Thanks for all of your advice and interest in my situation. If you should hear of a device that would pair using the full avrcp 1.3 I'd love to know about it. It's frustrating to have all of that available to me on my car and nothing to use with it!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:35 AM
BramDB's Avatar
BramDB BramDB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
It's frustrating to have all of that available to me on my car and nothing to use with it!
I know that feeling
__________________
Proud owner of Samsung P3 Silver 8GB with the best in-ears existing: Sennheiser CX200
Sorry for my bad english, I'm Belgian and speak Dutch
Making & editing flash apps for Samsungs P3 and Cowons S9
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-25-2010, 12:18 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

I did a little searching and the latest devices that actually disclose the AVRCP profile they are using general seem to be still at 1.0. Why, I have no idea.

Take heart because it seems to be par for the course. I have a couple of devices that are capable of receiving A2DP audio with the standard SBC stream or can actually decode a mp3 stream. None of the devices that I have that transmit have the ability to stream out a mp3, just the Sub Band Codec (SBC).

I wouldn't be the least bit suprised if the EDR capabilities aren't being used when both devices in a pairing are supposed to be BT 2.x +EDR.

I speculate the Samsung support people incorrectly told you P3 is AVRCP 1.3. They probably though 1.0 was 'good enough' and are not using the higher version.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-25-2010, 05:37 PM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I think I really threw the people at Samsung for a loop. How many people call with that kind of question? However, they should definitely know the answer.

Now I'm wondering if it is an issue with the car audio system. I've looked through the manual and they don't show any device working with the system showing metadata. Even though the manual says it supports AVCRP 1.3, they don't show it in use. I don't really know but I pick up my license plates tomorrow and I might ask someone in the service department about it. My guess is that they aren't going to have a clue either!

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-25-2010, 08:58 PM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

If I may pry, what kind of car is this? It should be possible to determine who made the head unit if we know who made the car. From there, it may be reasonably easy to determine more about the head unit itsself.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-26-2010, 08:32 AM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Sure, it's a Mazda CX-9 GT with the nav system. The sound is by Bose but I don't think that is who makes the actual unit. I've looked around and can't find a whole lot of info about it. I didn't even want the nav unit but the car was on the lot and they made me a pretty good deal. Now that I have it I want to utilize all of the options.

Thanks again for your interest!
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-01-2010, 11:12 AM
pgh1969pa pgh1969pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 578
Default

I could not find much on you head unit. I used to have a few Ford contacts and as you may know, this platform is shared with the Ford Edge. Ford aslo owns part interest in Mazda. For some components not shared between Ford & Mazda, my conections could still could tell me who Mazda had sourced. No such luck this time.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-02-2010, 11:10 AM
lisam lisam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I appreciate you looking into it for me so much! I've pretty much given up on it at this point. I did speak to someone in the service department. He seemed fairly knowledgeable but I don't think he completely understood what I was talking about. He said it was for the future and there would be a box added and that it was for ipod. HUH? There is already an ipod choice if you buy the needed hardware. Sooo.....I walked out without a real answer.

I'm thinking about adding usb functionality to the system. That might be the best way to go, then I'd just use my the player in MSC mode. I'll have to look into it over the summer, I'm too busy with work to delve into it much further at this point.

I'll have to find a good car audio place that knows what they are doing to see if it can even be done.

Thank you again!

Lisa
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-26-2010, 04:21 PM
hcnguyen88 hcnguyen88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1
Default

I bought a 2010 Mazda (its a 3 S,HB) earlier this year too and it also has bluetooth support. Though, the manual says it only supports AVRCP 1.0. I don't know about the CX-9 but it seems sort of unlikely that they are different, given that its the same brand and year. Are you sure your car has AVRCP 1.3?

if not, this lack of AVRCP 1.3 is disappointing to me too, since now I know that the filetags won't show up on my dashboard display, even with my new P3 that is currently being shipped. Yarrr!

If only there was an integration kit that is not iPod related... maybe the people at the service department wouldn't assume your PMP is an iPod.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.