android
  #1  
Old 07-28-2010, 11:30 PM
joe_larson joe_larson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default Sansa V2 Rockbox Help!

Don't want to sound whiny. I've looked at many forums and directions for Rockbox installation on v2, and no luck. Can someone please help me?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-28-2010, 11:47 PM
glove4 glove4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 385
Default

http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS

Scroll down to where it says in red "MANUAL INSTALLATION IS DISCOURAGED IF YOU DON'T FEEL CONFIDENT ABOUT IT, USE THE AUTOMATIC METHOD ABOVE," and just under that is the bootloader, original firmware and rockbox build for V2 Fuze.

Also, I think this thread will likely be moved to the Rockbox Fuze subforum.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:01 AM
joe_larson joe_larson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default

thanks for the reply, but I have no idea what to do with these files. I've tried copying the rockbox build into the root directory. I also have an original firmware (1.2.27) The bootloader, I am at a loss for
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:20 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_larson View Post
thanks for the reply, but I have no idea what to do with these files. I've tried copying the rockbox build into the root directory. I also have an original firmware (1.2.27) The bootloader, I am at a loss for
That link glove4 gave youhttp://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS leads you right to what you need.
Quote:
Installation for Stable (e200v2, Fuze v1) and Unstable (Clip v1, Clip v2, Clip +, Fuze v2)

Disclaimer:
  • Rockbox is considered unusable on AMS and is unsupported on everything but the Fuze v1, Fuze v2, e200v2, Clip v1, Clip v2, and Clip+
  • Even though the bootloader installation and rockbox itself are tested, there's always a risk of BRICKING your device PERMANENTLY. Some Sansa AMS (except the e200v2, Fuzev1, Fuzev2, and Clipv1, and for all of them it involves opening the player) have no known method for recovery, so this risk will not go away, even in (if any) future stable releases.
  • There's no known user-friendly recovery method for the AMS Sansas, those of them who can be unbricked (not all of them can) need to be opened, and they can be potentially damaged in the process.
  • Installation of a bootloader may or may not permanently disable DRM support, even if you uninstall it (this is an early and old problem, but there are reports that this may not be the case anymore, it might be related to the date/time setting).
  • The bootloader will not install to firmware files it has not been tested with. If you try to patch a newer firmware, it will refuse. Either use an older firmware, or (at your own risk) compile an updated mkamsboot.
Installation: Automatic installation with RockboxUtility is recommended and far easier
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:29 AM
joe_larson joe_larson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for the help. I got it to work with automatic method. I don't like the RB interface, though. I couldn't figure out how to "play all" or anything like that. It just didn't seem very user friendly
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:32 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_larson View Post
Thanks for the help. I got it to work with automatic method. I don't like the RB interface, though. I couldn't figure out how to "play all" or anything like that. It just didn't seem very user friendly
The manual is very useful
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:33 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

joe, rockbox definitely takes a little more time and effort than using the standard GUI for nearly every DAP out there. But I am here to tell you that it is worth your effort IMO.

Think of rockbox like cars with manual transmissions - perhaps not the easiest to learn or use, but generally no argument that one can get better control of their vehicle overall vs using most automatic transmissions.

In any event, the payoff for learning how to use Rockbox is quite high, if you choose to stick with it. Indeed though, Rockbox is not for everyone so no shame here... :-)

Good luck and cheers,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:34 AM
SheepCake SheepCake is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 116
Default

meh to each his own, i find it quite friendly, once i changed the skin to no ones laughing now and upped the font to 14 nib, works great, corse I mostly used playlists.

sounds like your a bit to much of a noob to be using rockbox, sorry if that sounds rude, but if you cant follow the directions on how to install it manually, your probably not going to be able to make real use of rockbox's extra features anyway and would be better off just using the OF.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:38 AM
SheepCake SheepCake is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
joe, rockbox definitely takes a little more time and effort than using the standard GUI for nearly every DAP out there. But I am here to tell you that it is worth your effort IMO.

Think of rockbox like cars with manual transmissions - perhaps not the easiest to learn or use, but generally no argument that one can get better control of their vehicle overall vs using most automatic transmissions.

In any event, the payoff for learning how to use Rockbox is quite high, if you choose to stick with it. Indeed though, Rockbox is not for everyone so no shame here... :-)

Good luck and cheers,
-lestatar
yeah but some people never can seem to learn to shift a manual tranny, my buddies wife for example, their daughter(16) can drive stick but mom cant despite people trying to teach her for years...lol
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:43 AM
joe_larson joe_larson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
joe, rockbox definitely takes a little more time and effort than using the standard GUI for nearly every DAP out there. But I am here to tell you that it is worth your effort IMO.

Think of rockbox like cars with manual transmissions - perhaps not the easiest to learn or use, but generally no argument that one can get better control of their vehicle overall vs using most automatic transmissions.

In any event, the payoff for learning how to use Rockbox is quite high, if you choose to stick with it. Indeed though, Rockbox is not for everyone so no shame here... :-)

Good luck and cheers,
-lestatar
Thanks. And to Sheepcake, you are right, I am a noob. But I'm trying to learn, and I will see if I can adjust to RB
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:46 AM
SheepCake SheepCake is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 116
Default

well, if my mother could adapt to rb anybody should be able to
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-29-2010, 05:25 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheepCake View Post
yeah but some people never can seem to learn to shift a manual tranny, my buddies wife for example, their daughter(16) can drive stick but mom cant despite people trying to teach her for years...lol
That sounds a bit wrong.

RB's learning curve is not too steep - you should get the hang of it after using it for a day or two!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.