android
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 09:55 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default bought a clip+ and got a question about rockbox.

Hi there,
I'm new to these forums and i just bought a Clip+ because the reviews on this and other sites are all very positive. But i also read a few threads on this forum and found out its recommended to rockbox it. So my question is it possible to rockbox a brand new Clip+ (which probally have either the newest or a really recent OF) so atleast V2 of what i read V2 wasnt able to be rockbox'ed but those threads were from january of febraury this year.
so i want to know if its possible now.

thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:05 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don’t believe that anyone recommends that it must be rockboxed, more of suggestions that rockbox improves functionality, provides features that sandisk original firmware does not or every will .... But keep in mind that anyone who does so, does at their own risk. That said, rockbox runs on all versions of the Clip and is generally stable enough to use, look here and read about the clip + variants here. Personally I've been running rockbox before it was stable and I've had nothing but good luck, although there are some that have had bad luck.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:11 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Answer to your question : It is possible now.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:25 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

oke than i know that its possible. And as i understand from these 2 reply's it isnt like 9/10 chance of getting problems right more like 2/10. Because than its worth the risk of what i've seen of it it's really better than OF, but i dont want a really big chance of getting it bricked or something like that.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:27 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

If you have any doubt in your abilities, use the rockbox utility to install.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:29 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

Wow very fast replies on this forum that's great
But if i use that utility to install it it will run stable and with no major problems right?
or do i still have a big chance of getting it bricked or getting major problems with it?
and i got Windows Vista so can i use the utility?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:32 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

There will still be a chance, but the risk will be lowered by using the utility if you're not tech savvy enough. (Reduce PEBKAC, etc issues)
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:36 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lars1216 View Post
... But if i use that utility to install it it will run stable and with no major problems right? or do i still have a big chance of getting it bricked or getting major problems with it?
and i got Windows Vista so can i use the utility?
As I wrote above "rockbox runs on all versions of the Clip and is generally stable enough to use." You may have some hick ups but I wouldn't suspect that you would brick your player ... Vista shouldn't be a problem, but I don't use the utility and opt for the manual install myself, so others can chime in and post their experiences with it.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:42 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

It works fine on Windows 7 x64, so Vista should be fine too, especially since Win7 x64 is one of the most fickle OS on program compatibility as far as my experience with it goes...
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-09-2010, 10:45 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickysio View Post
It works fine on Windows 7 x64, so Vista should be fine too, especially since Win7 x64 is one of the most fickle OS on program compatibility as far as my experience with it goes...
There is the compatibility mode, and virtual XP mode, you know...
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:15 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

okay so it means its 9/10 that rockboxing it is completely safe.
that means im gonna do it
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:24 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lars1216 View Post
okay so it means its 9/10 that rockboxing it is completely safe.
that means im gonna do it
Make sure you read the manual carefully.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:27 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

I will but i use the utility thingy so shouldnt be to hard i guess.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:29 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lars1216 View Post
I will but i use the utility thingy so shouldnt be to hard i guess.
The utility is automatic, so that won't be the problem, he was referring to normal use ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:30 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lars1216 View Post
I will but i use the utility thingy so shouldnt be to hard i guess.
Getting it on there with the utility is easy enough.....but using it afterwards is where the manual helps a lot.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:32 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

oh you mean the manual of rockbox of how to use it? Yea ofcourse i already read a bit, i will fully read it a few times before i start with it to fully understand it.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:39 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

You don't really need to read it to be able to use it as a music player... but if you want to tweak it without being confused, the manual helps.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:40 AM
lars1216 lars1216 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 33
Default

I'll just put it on my screen when im gonna find stuff out so i can take a look when i don't understand something
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:45 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Good idea. I personally didn't do that, but then again, I never read a manual before.

If you still have problems, don't be afraid to post.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:47 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickysio View Post
You don't really need to read it to be able to use it ...
Bad advice for anyone who's never used rockbox before, on the other hand if you've used it on other players there isn't a real need.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.