android
  #1  
Old 08-12-2010, 09:47 AM
vince07 vince07 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Unhappy Hard Disk problem- Zen Xtra starts in Rescue mode

Dear All,

I need some help. I am not a gadget person.
Last week I was recharging my MP3 ( Zen Xtra) over night.
When I woke up, I found the MP3 LCD light on and the MP3 felt quite hot.
So I removed the power supply and the battery from the MP3.

When I put back the battery to restart the thing, "Rescue mode" screen appeared.

1)Clean-up: No effect
2)Format All: Did not try as I have lots of songs inside the MP3
3)Reload OS: "Hard Disk problem" message appeared.
4)Reboot: Kept returning to the Rescue mode screen.

Using the USB, I tried to connect to the PC but no response. So
I wrote to Creative for help and they gave me the following link

http://support.creative.com/kb/showa...aspx?sid=63121

which I could not understand.

I downloaded the MP3 Player Recovery Tool but it could not detect my player too.

After a few emails with their Helpdesk,

1) they asked me to confirm if I have Windows XP sp2 installed which my PC already have.
2) They got me to install ZenXtraP4SAudible_PCFW_LB_2_10_03.exe to update the flimware to solve the problem. This time, the MP3 did response but it prompted me to upgrade to flimware ver 2.10.03 but there was a warning message which said that upgrading it would mean that all my data would be erased.

Can someone advise me how to solve the problem without losing the songs/data inside my MP3?
Anyway to backup the songs? Please help. Thanks


Additional info: Current flimware ver:1.20.08
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:58 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,064
Default

I have not reloaded the same firmware version on any of my Zen Xtras but I can say I have on my Zen VM & it leaves the files intact. Also if you install the 2.10.03 version you will LOSE all the music files on the player. So I would use the current firmware since you have already selected 'Reload OS" player is not going to work until it has a firmware installed. http://support.creative.com/download...ownloadId=8471
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.