android
  #1  
Old 09-22-2010, 08:33 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default Music Will Not Play . . .

For the first time ever, I'm having issues with Rockbox. All has been good until today.

Today, I was going to do an experiment and see if I could play music through my guitar amplifier, but I didn't get that far. When I found some music I wanted, it came up with one of those grey boxes saying how it's trying to find music (which was odd because I haven't updated my database) and then it would freeze to the point where I had to reset it. It kept doing this, until I decided to reinstall Rockbox.

After I did this, it will get to the music screen and go through the songs saying "Codec Failure." I just tried it again, and now it's coming up with a "Data Abort" screen. I tried it once again as I write this, and now it's coming back up with the "Codec Failure" box.

My question is, what is going on and why?
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-22-2010, 09:07 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,617
Default

Usually that means your build didn't fully install or else got corrupted.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-23-2010, 06:37 AM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default

So what should I do?
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-23-2010, 09:49 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Saxmaster. Am no RB expert, but given saratoga's info, I believe I would try:

- deleting the entire .rockbox directory [BUT backing up your preferences and .cfg files, etc and using the db Export Modifications function to save stuff like User Ratings you may have entered, backing up the resultant text file too - just in case]; btw, you can try using the RB Utility to do an automated Backup of your existing RB install.

- extracting a new build of rockbox right onto the device, overwriting all existing files.

Hopefully this will resolve any file corruption you may have encountered during the original install.

However, as I am no expert, I suggest waiting for confirmation of my suggestion before proceeding.

Don't worry too much - I have confidence you will be up and rockin with RB again soon. Be patient

cheers,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:21 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Lightbulb

I have done the second method already and I don't see how the first method would hurt it, so I'm going to see if that helps.
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:46 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

OK, ur call...I don't see any harm either, but again no expert.

I keep my toes crossed for you
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:44 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default

I just re-updated Rockbox again (just overwriting everything as usual) and for some reason, it worked this time, so all is well.
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:17 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Nice - congrats and enjoy
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.