android
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:52 PM
Zoea Zoea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Help Rockbox Clip+ FM Radio - stereo?

Hi there

I am having trouble getting stereo reception on my newly rockboxed Clip+. I mainly use it to listen to the radio so this is a bit of a dealbreaker for me. I have made sure the force mono preference is off but I still only get mono sound.

Has anyone managed to get stereo FM reception from their rockbox? Thanks,

Zoea
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:59 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I never use the FM....but make sure your headphone cord is stretched out.....that's your antenna.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:03 PM
Zoea Zoea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Tried everything with the antenna - no luck!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:08 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoea View Post
Tried everything with the antenna - no luck!
That sucks. I just tried mine, and I got stereo on a couple of stronger stations.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:10 PM
bertrik bertrik is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Default

The Clip+ can come with two different FM tuner chips, either ad SI4702 or an RDA5802 tuner chip. You can figure out the specific tuner chip by going into menu system/debug/fm debug. The SI4702 is able to gradually adjust the "stereo blend", i.e. the stereo is "widest" (most stereo) when the signal is strong and blends to mono for weaker signals. We have some control over this to control the signal strength where the blend start kicking in. Do you get stereo in the original firmware for channels where you don't get stereo in rockbox?
The RDA5802 tuner only does a hard switch between full stereo and full mono as far as I know.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-10-2010, 01:55 AM
Chris Jones Chris Jones is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2
Default

I have this issue as well (and also use the radio a lot), but since nobody else ever mentioned it I thought I must be the only one that noticed. Mine has an SI4700 chip apparently, and the original firmware has no problem with stereo on any station most of the time. In Rockbox I rarely get stereo on any station, and when I do it's not as wide as when using the original firmware. Consequently this keeps me going back to the OF to use the radio, which is a shame because you can't scroll backwards through stations in the OF (strangely enough), not to mention save station names etc.

Last edited by Chris Jones; 10-10-2010 at 02:00 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-10-2010, 03:44 AM
bertrik bertrik is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Default

If you know how to work with patches, you can try one of the patches posted here:
http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/11405
It enables stereo even for rather weak signals.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-13-2010, 12:02 PM
bertrik bertrik is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Default

Another (much simpler) thing to check is the FM radio region setting. Apparently Australia uses the same grid as the US/Canada, with stations only on frequencies with odd decimals (like 103.3, but not 103.2 or 103.4 MHz) and a channel spacing of 0.2 MHz. If you keep it set to the Europe region (which has a smaller 0.1 MHz channel spacing), it may recognise a station at a frequency with an even decimal frequency, basically just being slightly off the desired frequency and resulting in poor reception.
Setting it to US/Canada will prevent this (and also make the frequency autoscan about two times faster).
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-16-2010, 07:43 AM
bertrik bertrik is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Default

The fm radio stereo patch I mentioned earlier is now in the current rockbox build.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-05-2010, 08:42 PM
Chris Jones Chris Jones is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks bertrik, will try this when I get a chance.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-08-2010, 11:58 AM
shobuz99 shobuz99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Help. Just bought a Sansa Clip+ MP3 player.
Stupid human user can't exit from the FM Radio mode.
I have tried to nav out and it never gets past the FM radio dial select station.
I want to get back to system settings; but I can't exit FM Radio.
What am I doing or not doing that's dumb?
thank you for any help.
Shoibuz99
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:08 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,616
Default

Theres a keymap for the radio screen in the manual.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:21 PM
shobuz99 shobuz99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Theres a keymap for the radio screen in the manual.
Thank you. It was the Menu/Hold button. I told you I was stupid.
I was holding it down instead of just pressing once...

Thanks again..
Shobuz99
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.