android
  #1  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:26 PM
shortyhawaii shortyhawaii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Avoiding Conversion?

So, I'm tired of all the audio conversion happening whenever I sync new music to my WALKMAN. My music is about 50/50, meaning 50% doesn't need to be converted, and the other 50% does.

I noticed the only files that are getting converted are the files under 128kbs. Anything over does not get converted. So am I right in assuming it must be at least 128 kbs to play on the WALKMAN?

I don't need the files to by high quality. They are just speech audio files, so I don't care much for the quality, just want to make this syncing process shortened.

So, my question is this: is there a way to avoid the conversion, or should I just use a standard converter to convert all my files so they are at least 128kbs so I won't have to go through this each time I sync?

I sync a lot because I remove the old files and add new ones constantly. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:30 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

What format are the files?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:32 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Additionally to Marvin's question, what app are you using to get stuff onto your player?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:39 PM
shortyhawaii shortyhawaii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

They are mp3 and using WMP. Just downloaded Media Monkey, but not sure if that will fix my problem.. ?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-16-2010, 10:08 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

That sounds like a WMP issue. There are many settings in it that can cause havoc if not disabled. It's no coincidence that the vast majority of us here don't use it. MediaMonkey is certainly an upgrade, but even with that, you need to make sure the player settings are correct. There's a learning curve with it, but it's a great program.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 10-16-2010 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.