android
  #1  
Old 10-20-2010, 01:25 PM
maxxpower18's Avatar
maxxpower18 maxxpower18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 17
Default Want to make sure I setup my Clip+ correctly

Hey what's up guys

I just got my Clip+ on the mail along with two 16gb sandisk micro sdhc cards. I've decided to rockbox my Clip+ and I just have a couple of questions for you all.

1) It is my understanding that you can only manually install the rockbox on the Clip+ right? Automated will not work am I correct?

2) When I add music to my micro sd cards should I

a) add it to the sd card individually

b) add the music to the sd card while it is inside the Clip+

That's about it, thanks again guys
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-20-2010, 01:43 PM
skip252 skip252 is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,886
Default

The Rockbox Installer has been updated to work with all models of the Clip. Just download the version that's right for your OS and have at it.

Be sure to load the files in MSC mode. You can do it the way that's most convenient for you. My computer doesn't have a card reader that will handle SDHC cards so I load them while the card is in the player. If the files transfer quicker for you while the cards outside the player do it that way. Rockbox doesn't care, it finds all the files as long as they're on the player.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-20-2010, 01:49 PM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

Alternatively, just set the Clip to msc mode, grab the bootloader from the beginning of this thread;

http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=53702

Unzip it to the root of the Clip. Then grab a build (either straight Rockbox, from the link in the same post, or dfkt's (or indeed one of the others that are floating around...) which you can normally find somewhere near the end of the thread), and unzip that to the same place, and you're away.

Personal preference, really. I see that as easier, many would prefer the other way - probably just depends how your brain's wired.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-20-2010, 02:13 PM
skip252 skip252 is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confuseling View Post
Alternatively, just set the Clip to msc mode, grab the bootloader from the beginning of this thread;

http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=53702

Unzip it to the root of the Clip. Then grab a build (either straight Rockbox, from the link in the same post, or dfkt's which you can normally find somewhere near the end of the thread), and unzip that to the same place, and you're away.

Personal preference, really. I see that as easier, many would prefer the other way - probably just depends how your brain's wired.
It certainly does work well and that's one of the ways I've done it. Like you say it's your mindset. However there are quite a few people that have read the older threads before the Rockbox Utility was updated. I think it's a good idea to publicize that an automated install is available now.

Plus there's been a few folks that have wanted to uninstall and had problems figuring how to do that. The Rockbox Utility creates a log file that makes automated uninstallation possible.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-20-2010, 06:53 PM
maxxpower18's Avatar
maxxpower18 maxxpower18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 17
Default

Also, is there any bloatware that comes with the Clip+ that I should get rid off before adding music? I just want to have it clean as a whistle before I start adding anything to it.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 07:14 PM
skip252 skip252 is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,886
Default

I always run the SDFormatter on it first. When I do that I just accept the program's defaults and let it roll. That wipes out anything that might be on there and brings the internal card to industry standards. I do that for any external card I will be using also.

Some have made claims of increased performance and reliability doing that. I've never seen a difference myself but it does make sure everything is in order for the new installation.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-20-2010, 07:29 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
I always run the SDFormatter on it first. When I do that I just accept the program's defaults and let it roll. That wipes out anything that might be on there and brings the internal card to industry standards. I do that for any external card I will be using also.

Some have made claims of increased performance and reliability doing that. I've never seen a difference myself but it does make sure everything is in order for the new installation.
I've never scientifically measured it, but it seemed that it loaded slightly faster...but that may well have been all in my head.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-20-2010, 07:39 PM
skip252 skip252 is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,886
Default

That's just me being careful about making claims I can't prove. If I didn't think it worked better I wouldn't take the time to do it. It does definitely seem quicker and I have very few crashes now.

Of course that could just be part of the improvements in Rockbox code. Considering how hard they work to improve it that wouldn't be an unreasonable explanation.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:45 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxxpower18 View Post
Also, is there any bloatware that comes with the Clip+ that I should get rid off before adding music? I just want to have it clean as a whistle before I start adding anything to it.
If you like, you can reformat the player under its Settings. The player comes with 5, I believe, songs preloaded (loaded under MTP mode, and so your computer won't see them if connected under MSC mode).
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:35 PM
maxxpower18's Avatar
maxxpower18 maxxpower18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 17
Default

Quick question, how do I update the database when I switch SD cards?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:39 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxxpower18 View Post
Quick question, how do I update the database when I switch SD cards?
You can initiate it manually by selecting "initialize database", or you can set it to automatically do it by enabling "Auto update".
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.