android
  #1  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:11 AM
fortune fortune is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default Gapless doesn't work

I just got my i9 today, and everything works fine but the gapless.

Is the gapless called "fade in" on the music menu?

I set the "fade in" to 3 seconds, but it does nothing.

The version is 1.14. I don't know what's wrong.

Help me please.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:15 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I think you're confused, click on the glossary under my signature on the bottom right or click here. Scroll to section "Digital Music Terminology" and look up the definition of gapless and fade-in to see if that clears things up for you ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:26 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Fortune, what file formats are you using? MP3s are perfectly gapless for me, as long as they're encoded with LAME (and created with a proper CD ripper, such as EAC). MP3s encoded with FhG, Xing, or other encoders are hit or miss. FLAC and Vorbis are perfectly gapless as well for me.

You can check which encoder was used with this little tool: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multime...stionMan.shtml
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-29-2010, 10:01 AM
fortune fortune is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
I think you're confused, click on the glossary under my signature on the bottom right or click here. Scroll to section "Digital Music Terminology" and look up the definition of gapless and fade-in to see if that clears things up for you ...
Thanks for your qucik response

I think I get what both mean right now.

Actually I don't need the fade it; I just want gapless.

Usually there's a 3second slience in the end of a song, so the gapless cancels the slience, right? Is this what gapless means?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-29-2010, 10:15 AM
fortune fortune is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Fortune, what file formats are you using? MP3s are perfectly gapless for me, as long as they're encoded with LAME (and created with a proper CD ripper, such as EAC). MP3s encoded with FhG, Xing, or other encoders are hit or miss. FLAC and Vorbis are perfectly gapless as well for me.

You can check which encoder was used with this little tool: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multime...stionMan.shtml
Does the format matter? I use Wavs and mp3s, but I don't know if there encoded with LAME.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:07 PM
abiJD abiJD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: germany
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortune View Post
Does the format matter? I use Wavs and mp3s, but I don't know if there encoded with LAME.
<=>

Quote:
MP3s are perfectly gapless for me, as long as they're encoded with LAME (and created with a proper CD ripper, such as EAC). MP3s encoded with FhG, Xing, or other encoders are hit or miss. FLAC and Vorbis are perfectly gapless as well for me.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:33 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

This may help http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/GaplessHowTo
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-01-2010, 01:59 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortune View Post
but I don't know if there encoded with LAME.
That's why I linked you to Mr. Questionman, to find out which MP3 encoder has been used.

As far as WAV files go, I have no idea. I would never use them on a portable player, since they're a huge waste of space and can't be tagged. But they should be gapless nevertheless - so I would guess they weren't ripped properly from CD to begin with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
That info is severely outdated, confusing and not really helpful for the i9, it's only of historical value for Rockbox.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-01-2010, 02:05 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Good point and I understand that we’re up to v3.98.4 Lame now but I found some of the links interesting and I didn’t know that it was gapless since v3.90.3 …
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-01-2010, 02:06 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yeah, gapless is just gapless - no special things to do with LAME in the last few years, it just works.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.