android
  #1  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:21 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default Peak meter and Pre cut

Howdy,

When watching the peak meter on WPS. should I be adjusting the pre-cut, so the meter does not "peak out"?

Does the meter "peaking out" mean distortion?..even though I cant hear any.
Pre-amp does not seem to have ant effect.
Yes i have clipping enabled and Replay gain also.
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:32 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TANJENT View Post
Howdy,

When watching the peak meter on WPS. should I be adjusting the pre-cut, so the meter does not "peak out"?

Does the meter "peaking out" mean distortion?..even though I cant hear any.
Pre-amp does not seem to have ant effect.
Yes i have clipping enabled and Replay gain also.
I think as long as ReplayGain is activated with the prevent clipping enabled, that the peak meters are just eye candy, something to watch. I'm actually using themes right now that don't even have peak meters.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:37 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default

OK...im constantly looking at it..and thinking..Oh its too high, and thats not good, so i drop pre cut to below peak out stage, but then i never really hear ANY difference in SQ...just volume.
So yes, what you said makes sense.
Clipping on eliminates the possibility of clipping (distorting), so no need to manually adjust. right?

Thanks Mr Martian...
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:42 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TANJENT View Post
Clipping on eliminates the possibility of clipping (distorting), so no need to manually adjust. right?
I think that is why it's there.... it works for me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TANJENT View Post
Thanks Mr Martian...
You're welcome!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:44 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default

dfkt, can you please remake your WPS...without peak meter..lol
or can I turn it off? hhmmmm
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,445
Default

You can go into the WPS code itself and delete the peak meter code--easy enough to do, actually.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:12 AM
Confuseling Confuseling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 227
Default

You can adjust the sensitivity of the peak meter.

Settings -> General Settings -> Display -> Peak Meter

So you can make your music clip and distort as horribly as you like, then adjust down the sensitivity of your peak meter, and confuse yourself thoroughly...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:22 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confuseling View Post
You can adjust the sensitivity of the peak meter.

Settings -> General Settings -> Display -> Peak Meter

So you can make your music clip and distort as horribly as you like, then adjust down the sensitivity of your peak meter, and confuse yourself thoroughly...
roflmao...
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-02-2010, 05:04 PM
TANJENT's Avatar
TANJENT TANJENT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 70
Default

nice...
__________________
Cans: MS1i
Source: Sansa CLIP+ (Rockboxed) 4GB + 4GB sd.
Amp: Fiio E5

Xbox Live GT: TANJENT PLOP
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.