android
  #41  
Old 12-08-2010, 04:01 PM
TechyguyDR's Avatar
TechyguyDR TechyguyDR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 317
Default

Well not holding it from bottom right hand corner does help significantly. But I can't seem to be able to find the Power Save option in the wifi menu. Does that mean its already disabled?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 12-08-2010, 05:47 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Powersave is enabled by default. You get a chance when first adding a connection to disable it. If the 43 already knows the connection, try this:

In WiFi Settings, Hold down on any network in the list. A window will pop up, and one of the options is "Modify network". select it. The info that then pops up is a sliding list. You may have to slide the list up to see the checkbox "Disable powersave".
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 12-09-2010, 07:36 AM
TechyguyDR's Avatar
TechyguyDR TechyguyDR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 317
Default

Thanks. Reception is better now. Before turning off powersave I'd get a signal in my room, but only in one very tight spot and it was unstable. Now I've still got a less than good signal, but its stable now.
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 12-09-2010, 09:38 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

^ Good to hear.Bringing out issues sometimes yield fruitful results.
Thank "All E" ,man why don't you share your initial impression (informal OK) of Archos 32 and even 43(if you have access to it).
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 12-09-2010, 09:48 PM
G-Man76's Avatar
G-Man76 G-Man76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 301
Default

Man I am so sick of waiting for either the 43 or 70 to come to BestBuy. I have a whack of Bestbuy Gift Card money and really don't want anything else right now. I am tempted to just get the 32 for the fun of it. Is the screen responsive?
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:43 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Though one international seller from UK has mentioned that expected stock by 15th December but I am not optimistic.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:40 PM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

zzz...Why can't archos even tell us anything about what they are doing? It would be nice to know if we will ever be able to get one of the damn 43's before christmas...
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 12-10-2010, 04:34 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattk42 View Post
I'm getting very interested in the Archos 43. The 32 looks great too, and I would buy it right now, if it had expandable memory(or larger storage than 8gb.)
I agree, this is what is stopping me from getting a 32 and probably why they are in stock and the 43 is not in stock. The 8GB would be fine is the OS didn't use about 2GB worth. I may have to learn to live with it and just blast things back and forth when I want them. It would save $100 too, maybe something to consider this weekend.
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 12-11-2010, 09:02 AM
G-Man76's Avatar
G-Man76 G-Man76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 301
Default

Yup that is the key poor point for the 32. Though the screen and HDMI are nice bonuses on the 43 too.
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 12-12-2010, 01:10 PM
coffee_prince coffee_prince is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Default

The samsung android player will be out next month, has anyone or can anyone do a side by side comparison as they are the same price? I'm also worried that the samsung model has little to no news about it :s
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 12-12-2010, 01:30 PM
mattk42 mattk42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffee_prince View Post
The samsung android player will be out next month, has anyone or can anyone do a side by side comparison as they are the same price? I'm also worried that the samsung model has little to no news about it :s
Ha, yea. I hadn't even heard of the Samsung player. Or are you talking about the Galaxy 50? I'm pretty sure that doesn't have any announced U.S. release date or any talk of a U.S. release.

I really wish the Archos 43 would come back in stock. Though I haven't entirely decided that I want to buy it, plenty of people would, so I could get some more sources of opinion on it's functionality. Though, from what I've seen, already it looks great. It combines all the good things in mp3 players out on the market. Wifi, android (which neither Zune nor iTouch have--though Apples apps are comparable), plug and play and expandable memory (neither of which Zune nor Apple products have.) Though, I tend to think that Microsoft would put something in future PMP products (if they make any more.) But, then the size and resolution of the screen will be outstanding for video! Gah, I want it!
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 12-12-2010, 06:10 PM
coffee_prince coffee_prince is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Default

The archos was never available here as its always "coming soon", was it even released in the USA yet?

Yeah I made a thread a while back about the Galaxy Player 50 release in the UK it is on amazon.co.uk but they got it mixed up as the link below should be 8gb and their 32gb is probably supposed to be 16gb.

Samsung need to sort out their pr, how can the official website have no information about a product that is to be released in less than a month?

Both the 43 ad Galaxy 50 16gb models are 179.99

They both seem to offer 25hrs playback, how strange

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-16GB...2198953&sr=8-1

Do either feature speakers?
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 12-12-2010, 08:42 PM
mattk42 mattk42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I can't speak for the Galaxy, but the Archos 43 does have an external speaker. I also can't speak for the quality of the speaker on the Archos, but from what I've heard/read it seems to be adequate. I think the Archos website says that the 43 is supposed to get 33 hours of audio playback or 10 hours of video.
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 12-13-2010, 07:08 PM
Mq1991 Mq1991 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 131
Default

HERE: altho its more expensive....


http://www.simplyelectronics.net/mai...=usd&pid=12203
__________________
"The Bitterness Of Poor Quality Lingers Long After The Happiness Of Low Price Is Forgotten"
16GB Zune HD, Sansa Fuze V1, Sansa e260 ROCKBOXED.

Add Me on Zune Social! my name is: mq1991
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 12-13-2010, 09:44 PM
G-Man76's Avatar
G-Man76 G-Man76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 301
Default

Hmm... Seems odd that they would have it when Archos itself is sold out.
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 12-14-2010, 04:05 PM
Mq1991 Mq1991 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 131
Default

it seems that they do actually have them. as the units in stock number keeps lowering. It was at 14, now its at 9.
__________________
"The Bitterness Of Poor Quality Lingers Long After The Happiness Of Low Price Is Forgotten"
16GB Zune HD, Sansa Fuze V1, Sansa e260 ROCKBOXED.

Add Me on Zune Social! my name is: mq1991
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 12-14-2010, 11:03 PM
Mq1991 Mq1991 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 131
Default

haha wow only one left!
__________________
"The Bitterness Of Poor Quality Lingers Long After The Happiness Of Low Price Is Forgotten"
16GB Zune HD, Sansa Fuze V1, Sansa e260 ROCKBOXED.

Add Me on Zune Social! my name is: mq1991
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 12-15-2010, 07:42 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

^^ OUT OF STOCK.
I am sure that has to do with your linking their site here.
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 12-15-2010, 08:32 PM
Mq1991 Mq1991 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 131
Default

dang they sold out quick...
__________________
"The Bitterness Of Poor Quality Lingers Long After The Happiness Of Low Price Is Forgotten"
16GB Zune HD, Sansa Fuze V1, Sansa e260 ROCKBOXED.

Add Me on Zune Social! my name is: mq1991
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 12-17-2010, 08:02 AM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

So didn't one site say December 15th?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.