android
Old 01-01-2011, 05:23 PM
Windows Phone Moderator

Default Share your WP7 Experience with abi....

I thought I'd kick of a thread for WP7 owners to share some of their experiences with the new OS / UI / Handsets with the abi community. If you are a regular reader here, I'm guessing your either orientated away from Apple products - or at least open to thought of a product that doesn't begin with an "i".

I'm an Aussie with a tech interest (not work related field) and ZuneHD owner. I have never owned a personal smart phone - however previously used a work supplied Samsung Blackjack. My main use therefore was business related - and push email was great with the Blackjack - however other online activities or add-ons were poor.

Aussie's were lucky this time around, in that we saw the WP7 launch marginally before the US. Researching plenty up to and just following the launch, I set out to import a Samsung Focus from the US - which was a bit of an experience in itself originally (see my other thread here linking to this)!

So. As a ZuneHD user - I was expecting a lot from WP7. I'm happy to say I believe MS have delivered.

WP7 meets my mobile social, family and business needs all-in-one. My Samsung Focus (I believe this is hands down the best launch handset) has replaced my work blackjack, my ZuneHD (it now rests on the bookcase not seeing a lot of use) and meets 90% of my needs for topping up a wireless USB Telstra modem for mobile broadband to a PC. WP7 over 3G can meet most of our needs (eBay, email access, basic browsing, weather and tides, general purpose needs and PMP).

Sure - there are some shortcomings and areas that MS will (and have confirmed) they need to improve on for a 1.0 product (they have been detailed enough elsewhere) - however none of these seriously get in the way of enjoying my WP7 experience.