android
  #1  
Old 01-26-2011, 04:05 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default Archos gen8 tablet Firmware Update 2.1.2/2.1.3

Firmware changes

Version 2.1.2 - January 26th, 2010

  • Video: fix some audio glitches after seeking WMA files
  • Video: add support for MTS files
  • Video: bring UTF-8 and UTF-16 encoded subtitles format support
  • Video: fix SUB subtitles sometimes truncated
  • Video: add IDX/SUB subtitle handling
  • Video: fix http://.*mpeg playback
  • Video: support resume and bookmark for network shares
  • Video: fix some FLV files not playing
  • Youtube: fix mobile site video not playing
  • Multimedia: fix RTSP support for Android applications
  • Multimedia: fix some web radio applications by adding basic M3U support
  • Audio: apply shorter steps in audio balance tuning
  • Audio: fix sound glitch on system notification while playing music
  • Music browser: fix album view crash on scroll with a lot of albums
  • Music: support samba protected directory access
  • Thumbnails: resolve thumbs generation freeze
  • Indexing: improve rescan robustness
  • Indexing: fix scanning not restarting after connecting device on PC or ejecting SDCard
  • Network shares: large files (>2GB) can now be played
  • Wi-Fi: fix disabling power saving not working
  • Wi-Fi: enable IEEE802.11n support
  • Wi-Fi: achieve faster reconnection
  • SDCard: fix sdcard removal not being taken into account
  • Storage: enable EXT3 filesystem support and migration
  • USB keyboard: fix external directional keys layout when rotating the device
  • Memory: enable 32MB swap by default and increase it to 64MB after Android reset or full device reformat
  • Applications: fix applications disappearing sometimes between reboots
  • Applications: fix unit not responsive after Google voicesearch use
  • Power management: allow to define deep sleep mode by default in settings/about device/power management
  • VPN: PPTP VPN support has been fixed
From Archos.com/support.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-26-2011, 04:26 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

I was just coming here to post the same thing, thread on the subject:
http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=47190
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:17 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

No wireless N for me, no m3u, no rtsp from the browser. My router shows different IDs for G and N and I have them labeled so it's easy to see which one I'm connected to, laptop is working on N so I know that is functioning correctly. RTSP is from a server I control, works fine with all PC/Mac RTSP players and runs on Darwin Streaming Server. M3u generated by Winamp who apparently conceived the list.

Well at least it doesn't look like it broke anything so I think I'm OK with it.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-27-2011, 07:13 AM
StretchArm's Avatar
StretchArm StretchArm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Default

Looks like the've not updated the download link
on the support site even though the change log is upto date.
http://www.archos.com/support/suppor...&lang=en&#firm

here os the download url with the correct version

http://update.archos.com/8/gen8/gen8...droid_gen8.aos
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-27-2011, 08:58 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

802.11n works for me. My router also shows what each wireless connection is using. I'm getting faster throughput now than I do with my 4g iPod Touch using n.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:02 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Yes after reading through the thread on their forums they have a new version because a few devices were having a reboot issue after update, now version 2.1.03. Here is the change log:
http://update.archos.com/8/gen8/chan...droid_gen8.htm

I'll do this when I get home and see what might change, maybe my wireless N will show up this time.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:32 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olley View Post
Audio: apply shorter steps in audio balance tuning
Can't imagine how it was before that 'fix' - pan/balance is basically unusable for me, even the smallest step is too big for my imbalanced ears.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-27-2011, 06:28 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

It is now 15 steps +/- from even to left or right silent respectively. I'm not sure what it used to be because my ears are balanced and I've already updated my 32 and 70. Just curious, dfkt... how fine of a setting do you need?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:39 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The weird thing is that I can't set the value 1 for pan/balance on the Archos 32. I even used a stylus, but it either snaps to 2 or 0, despite clearly showing the value 1 is actually there.

Furthermore, same as the volume control, the pan/balance steps don't seem to be evenly spaced, linear - some increments change a lot, some others don't do much.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:05 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

That's a pity, dfkt. Although I hear fine for an old guy, I know more people with a left or right side defiency than I can count on my fingers. Send off an email to Archos support. I've had luck getting them to at least acknowledge the problems pointed out. Once the claim "we're looking into it" you can bet they will have addressed it in the next firmware update. I complained about 802.11n, and now it works.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:32 AM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

There are many reports of the browsers crashing when downloading a file (even small pictures) with the 2.1.03 firmware, I went back to 2.0.71 for the time being but might play with 2.1.01 again this weekend. Battery life is definitely not as good on 2.1.01 for me as I was using it all day yesterday and used about 60% (40% remaining), last time I did that on the older firmware I used around 20% (80% remaining).
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:10 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Battery life is one of the things that always resets when the firware is updated. There are power saving settings in WiFi connection, background Sync settings, screen animations, etc., that all get reset, and all can effect battery duration. I usually go through all of those after an update just to make sure I'm getting the duration I expect. It helps.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-28-2011, 11:10 AM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Mine were all plain vanilla so they shouldn't have changed.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.