android
  #1  
Old 01-26-2011, 04:54 AM
dduckquack dduckquack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 40
Default poweramp

does poweramp work with d3?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:09 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Is it android? If so it'll work just fine. None of use have it yet tho,...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-27-2011, 03:06 PM
Setsunakute's Avatar
Setsunakute Setsunakute is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Posts: 8
Default

I am using it and it works quite decently. Performance is not stellar, partly due to the lack of NEON instructions into the CPU, and expect some slowdown issues while playing some tracks.
With large libraries, scrolling through the list is quite painful. I have approx 800 folders, but when you open the built-in file browser, the app scans for the cover art and meta data from the NAND/µSD and the player tends to be unresponsive.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:54 AM
dduckquack dduckquack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 40
Default

10 band graphical eq on a cowon product would be porn, oh well
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:01 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I don't get what's all the fuzz about Poweramp - the EQ isn't that great sounding, it's not gapless, it has a cheesy WMP ripoff design, and so on... but maybe that's just me. I guess the stock Cowon music player on the D3 should have the better sound enhancements at least.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:49 AM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

Poweramp is a very impressive player, don't get me wrong. But, I would not use that over any of the Cowon default players. It's far and away the best setup on any mobile phone (that Ive seen), but still isn't going to compete with Cowon and their enhancements.

I agree with dfkt, though not as harshly (I do like the looks)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-28-2011, 07:26 AM
nodirectionhome nodirectionhome is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Salisbury UK
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasrhp View Post
Poweramp is a very impressive player, don't get me wrong. But, I would not use that over any of the Cowon default players. It's far and away the best setup on any mobile phone (that Ive seen), but still isn't going to compete with Cowon and their enhancements.

I agree with dfkt, though not as harshly (I do like the looks)
I agree with this - mobile phones used to have abysmal music players - even the dedicated Nokia and Sony music phones were only just adequate. Poweramp improves on these in so many ways.

Of course I'd like a Cowon BBE app for android, or Rockbox.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-28-2011, 11:45 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
I don't get what's all the fuzz about Poweramp - the EQ isn't that great sounding, it's not gapless, it has a cheesy WMP ripoff design, and so on... but maybe that's just me. I guess the stock Cowon music player on the D3 should have the better sound enhancements at least.
The powerAMP app ads what 99% of all Android phones lack: A decent EQ and the option to raise the volume a notch or two. On a Cowon I think it's useless, as a Cowon has excellent SQ,...powerAMP just ends up being a redundant powerHOG. I agree, the Cowon media playback on the D3 itself needs no help.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-28-2011, 11:55 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Well, this is probably the wrong thread for that, but I just got an Archos 32, and of course had to try every player under the sun (Poweramp, Winamp, Mixzing, and of course Rockbox). Besides Rockbox, which isn't yet useful/stable enough, the stock Archos player struck me as the most useful of all of them, which I found amazing. But I guess that's the difference between Android phones and Android media devices - on a phone with a plain audio player, Poweramp might make sense, but probably not so much on an Archos or Cowon. I think for such devices only Rockbox would be a real power user upgrade, once it's stable.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-28-2011, 12:09 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Thanks for the info, as I plan on getting an Archos 43 or 70 soon.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-28-2011, 12:59 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Thanks for the info, as I plan on getting an Archos 43 or 70 soon.
The 43 is in stock at Amazon....
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:31 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

I waiting on a possible buy on an Archos 70 250gb,...
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:47 PM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
The powerAMP app ads what 99% of all Android phones lack: A decent EQ and the option to raise the volume a notch or two. On a Cowon I think it's useless, as a Cowon has excellent SQ,...powerAMP just ends up being a redundant powerHOG. I agree, the Cowon media playback on the D3 itself needs no help.
I'd bet 99% of any phones out there

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Well, this is probably the wrong thread for that, but I just got an Archos 32, and of course had to try every player under the sun (Poweramp, Winamp, Mixzing, and of course Rockbox). Besides Rockbox, which isn't yet useful/stable enough, the stock Archos player struck me as the most useful of all of them, which I found amazing. But I guess that's the difference between Android phones and Android media devices - on a phone with a plain audio player, Poweramp might make sense, but probably not so much on an Archos or Cowon. I think for such devices only Rockbox would be a real power user upgrade, once it's stable.
Agreed! And tell those boys at Rockbox to get crackin!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I can tell you this much, aka. what I spent all day on: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...postcount=4869
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:08 PM
Setsunakute's Avatar
Setsunakute Setsunakute is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Posts: 8
Default

I use it because it offers better performance than the stock music app (jumping to next track is faster, gap between tracks are shorter...), and can skip system media scanner in my case. And the 10+2 band eq is nice.
If the former would not crash and not lead to player overheating, I would rather stick with the default music player and use PAMP as an extra player.

But there is 2 major drawbacks that prevent using it as a default player at this moment : Back/next/play buttons don't work (can be fixed by remapping keys), and no Android Market access available; you can't sign in with your Google account to validate the license.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.