android
  #1  
Old 01-27-2011, 04:50 PM
Just Some Guy Just Some Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 472
Default Is the Archos 5 IT pretty much abandoned now?

I know that Archos has moved on to the newer (and from what I've read, better) Android tablets like the 32 and 43, but what about their previous tablets, namely the 5IT?

There still hasn't been a fix for Youtube videos, and I'm sure there are a few things they could fix to get it a bit more streamlined. But there haven't been any updates for it in months.

Has Archos moved on, and left the last players behind?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:14 PM
G-Man76's Avatar
G-Man76 G-Man76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 301
Default

I would guess that they have. The 5 IT still have a great screen size and some have massive hard drives very cool still.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-30-2011, 12:06 AM
Just Some Guy Just Some Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 472
Default

Oh well, I was hoping for better internet browsing on my 5IT, but I guess it's as good as it will get.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-30-2011, 12:56 AM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Not yet gone, but as soon as the 48it hits it will be gone.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-01-2011, 11:04 PM
Joe_Linux Joe_Linux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 199
Default Archos 5 500 GB Internet Tablet with Android $239.99

Archos 5 500 GB Internet Tablet with Android $239.99

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002NEGTOC/...NN61NDFBTEM92H
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-02-2011, 03:20 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

Should note it is Android 1.6 with no hope of official upgrades.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:42 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

I have heard some people have been able to get android 2.2 running on it with few issues. I heard the archos 5 IT has a gps chip built into it for navigation, is this true?
I think there is still potential for this tablet but not official archos support. It's all up to people who want to develop things for it now.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.