android
  #1  
Old 03-23-2011, 06:55 AM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default Clip+ r29635-110322 - uSD Cards not recognised

I've just bought a 32GB uSD card for my Clip+ to replace the 16GB card which I've been using without problems for the last 6 months using rockbox running version 3.7.1.

Unfortunately, the card wasn't recognised. I read elsewhere here that the latest version cured this problem so I installed the current version 3.8 today (see thread title), but this has not cured the problem.

If I remove the card while rockbox is running and reinsert it, it is scanned and then recognised.

With the card recognised I was able to initialise the database and provided I remember to unplug and then reinsert the card the Clip works normally, I can see all files in the database, plays files off the card, build playlists etc etc..

I've tried my old 16GB card and the 32GB card out of my J3 and none of them are recognised. The new card is recognised by the J3. They are all Sandisk cards, purchased from Amazon.

So... I have a workaround, provided I remember to remove and reinsert the card when I switch the Clip+ on.

Any help here would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:02 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,898
Default

It's a known issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Its r29625 that broke card detection, unfortunately it fixes a bug reading the internal memory, so I'm not going to revert it until I know whats going on. For now either use an older build or just pop the card out and back in on boot.
I'd keep an eye on the since 4 weeks tracker. It should show up there when there's a fix.

Last edited by skip252; 03-23-2011 at 07:09 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:32 AM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
It's a known issue.I'd keep an eye on the since 4 weeks tracker. It should show up there when there's a fix.
Thanks Skip. I'll keep watching.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-24-2011, 06:12 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

should be fixed by r29637
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:29 AM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default

Yep... all fixed.

Thanks again to the Rockbox developers for making this awesome firmware available to the unwashed masses.

I was reading a thread at the Hydrogenaudio forum recently where a couple of smug old boys were wittering on about some small buzzes and clicks they were hearing in Rockbox. Their tone was very condescending and hinted at amateurism and it just struck me how little they appreciated the massive amount of very professional work that has gone into this product. Before I retired and took up my present occupation I worked for a multinational industrial software company and it strikes me that not many commercial companies offer the agility, organisation, version control and amazing innovation of this purely voluntary organisation.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-24-2011, 03:00 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

Just put r29642 on my Clip+. The microsd was recognized right away so it is fixed for me. Thanks
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-24-2011, 04:11 PM
keyb_gr keyb_gr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Default

@selectortone:
It's true, Rockbox generally is so far ahead of your average MP3 player's firmware it's not even funny. I believe that any kind of self-proclaimed "audiophile" player should ship with it by default, rather than the commonly feeble attempts that do. It's a simple matter of invested man-hours.

That being said, there still is lots of room for improvement in the promotion department. Try going to the Rockbox website and finding out what kind of license it's released under, then you'll know what I mean...
(It took me quite a while to find out that it's a GPLv2.)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:20 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboyer93 View Post
Just put r29642 on my Clip+. The microsd was recognized right away so it is fixed for me. Thanks
I can't get 29642 to extract without errors.....whether I try the manual method or the Utility. I'll try it tomorrow, and if it or a newer build don't extract then, I'll revert a third Sansa back to 3.7.1....lol.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:37 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

What kind of errors?
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:46 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboyer93 View Post
What kind of errors?
Have a look, if you like...
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (21.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: png Capture1 (2).PNG (14.5 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-25-2011, 12:05 AM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

Interesting, never seen that before.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-25-2011, 12:10 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,898
Default

Haven't used the Rockbox Utility or unzipped the archive in quite while. I just copy-paste the .rockbox folder inside straight to the root of the drive.

I move the build I'm replacing into a folder I keep on the player named "Old" first. That way if things don't work out I can always fall back to the last working build.

Last edited by skip252; 03-25-2011 at 12:31 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-25-2011, 12:41 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Haven't used the Rockbox Utility or unzipped the archive in quite while. I just copy-paste the .rockbox folder inside straight to the root of the drive.

I move the build I'm replacing into a folder I keep on the player named "Old" first. That way if things don't work out I can always fall back to the last working build.
Well, the build I mean to replace is 3.8. I hadn't changed any content on this particular player since 3.8 was released, and after doing so today, the database wouldn't finish initializing. I can select an album folder and play it in file mode, but this player is meant to be a shuffle mode player for me....my other Clip+ I use in album mode.

So I'll give the next current build a shot tomorrow, I guess...I have 3.7.1 saved here on the computer if I need to use it.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 03-25-2011 at 12:47 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-25-2011, 01:17 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,898
Default

TBH there's another .rockbox folder inside my "Old" folder. I keep a copy of the last non USB build dfkt posted. It has the Meiers patch that pleases my ears the most without the problems the USB patch brings on my system.

I experiment around like today to satisfy my curiosity. The current build hasn't given any problems either building the database or recognizing the external memory so it will become the top level Old. But the greatest chance is I'll go back to dfkt's build. It just fits how I listen to my music so well.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:38 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Well, same thing happened this morning with the current build 29644 as happened last night with 29642. I was able to establish the the files that become corrupt are the EQ presets. This happened both when using the manual method and the Utility.

So I am going back to good old rock-solid stable 3.7.1.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:08 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,898
Default

Real head scratcher there for me Marv. I just DLed r29644-110325, did my usual copy paste and everything seems to be working OK in a short test. I don't usually use the EQ presets but when I test them they seem to be working OK.

For the heck of it I even dug out the Rockbox Utility-v1.2.8 and updated using that. Everything seems to be working. That doesn't mean there's no problem, I can't replicate it here though.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-25-2011, 10:08 AM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Well, same thing happened this morning with the current build 29644 as happened last night with 29642. I was able to establish the the files that become corrupt are the EQ presets. This happened both when using the manual method and the Utility.

So I am going back to good old rock-solid stable 3.7.1.
I would use 3.7.1 but 8gb microsd card wasn't detected on 3.7.1.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 03-25-2011, 10:51 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Real head scratcher there for me Marv. I just DLed r29644-110325, did my usual copy paste and everything seems to be working OK in a short test. I don't usually use the EQ presets but when I test them they seem to be working OK.

For the heck of it I even dug out the Rockbox Utility-v1.2.8 and updated using that. Everything seems to be working. That doesn't mean there's no problem, I can't replicate it here though.
I don't use the presets either. How I came to notice them being the issue was when I tried to use 29644, I extracted it into a new folder in my download folder first, which did work, then when I tried copying the extracted folder onto the Clip+, the EQ presets were the ones that flagged up as corrupted and halted the process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboyer93 View Post
I would use 3.7.1 but 8gb microsd card wasn't detected on 3.7.1.
Strange....I used two diffeent 16GB Sandisk microsdhc class 2 cards all winter long with 3.7.1. One of those cards is now sold, but the other one still works with 3.7.1.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 03-25-2011, 03:31 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

My card is a class 4 8gb Sandisk. It isn't detected in 3.7.1 but my 2gb is.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.