android
  #1  
Old 04-19-2011, 10:24 AM
NeonKnite NeonKnite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Rockbox Clip not being seen by Win 7

I upgraded two different Clips to Rockbox. First a 4gb version 1 and then an 8gb version 2.

All of the sudden this morning, Windows 7 would not detect the 4gb giving me a USB error. I didn't have a chance to see if the 8gb Clip is being detected.

Anyone know what I need to do to get this Rockboxed Clip being detected successfully again?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-19-2011, 12:12 PM
marc2003's Avatar
marc2003 marc2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Posts: 297
Default

with your player unplugged, goto "Devices and printers" on the start menu. remove any clip icons here. you may well have more than one. this will then force windows to re-detect the player next time you plug it in.
__________________
Sansa Clip+ 8GB :: Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC :: Rockbox :: FiiO E6 :: Sennheiser PX100 II
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-19-2011, 12:55 PM
NeonKnite NeonKnite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks I'll give that a try. I wonder if the Clip-ver-1 and Clip-ver-2 are causing a conflict?

Does anyone know if it's possible to use two different types of Clips on the same machine without issues?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-19-2011, 01:19 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonKnite View Post
Thanks I'll give that a try. I wonder if the Clip-ver-1 and Clip-ver-2 are causing a conflict?

Does anyone know if it's possible to use two different types of Clips on the same machine without issues?
I use Fuze V1 and V2 on the same Windows 7 computer. So Clips should be fine.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-19-2011, 02:42 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I use 2 v1s & 2 v2 Clips, e260, plus a few other msc players on the same pc on the same port without any problems.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-19-2011, 06:39 PM
NeonKnite NeonKnite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks guys... that worked like a charm and the device was detected fine in Rockbox mode.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:18 AM
orby orby is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 24
Default

if you return from windows' "energy saving mode", it's very likely usb devices wont be detected. this is a windows bug which applys for many usb devices / has nothing to to with rockbox in particular.

might have been the case for you.
a simple reboot and usb devices will work again.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.