android
Old 05-01-2011, 07:37 PM

Default Ten Minute Start-up

No, the title is not an exaguration on how long the Vision M takes to start.

I've been using my Vision M for five years now, I believe, and am having troubles with it for the first time. When I turn the unit on, it will remain on the screen with the full "ZEN Vision M" logo for 10-15 minutes. Once it is started however, it runs perfectly fine. Further complicating the issue for me, is if I shut the unit off and turn it back on, it'll start up immediately. The starting-up isn't a problem until I leave the player off for an extended period of time (overnight, typically).
As I've had the player since 2006 and have used only a screen protector from SkinIt, I am going to guess that this is something infixible from extended use and wear. I thought it would be smart to see if anyone has heard of similar problems before I begrudgingly look into replacing my Vision M.

Also, having not shopped for, nor been interested in mp3 players, what is a good alternative for me to look into? I don't care about how fashionable it is or the various features. Something durable with an impressive screen is what I am looking for. The Creative "Zen" from a few years back seems to be the most likely candidate, from what I have gathered. Any other suggestions or comments?

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 05-02-2011, 01:11 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Couple questions,how much space is left on the player? Have you done a Cleanup>Reboot on the player itself? This usually helps fix issues like this. I would suggest after you got it started from one of those long starups. to shut the player down then start the player in Rescue?Recovery mode & choose the Cleanup selection after that is done choose Reboot. She if that helps & REFRAIN from choosing any other choices from that menu screen. ONLY do this when the battery has a full charge.
Creative Zen Vision:M