android
  #1  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:26 PM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default Sony S639f freeze problem

Before going into the test mode on my Sony S639f it was working perfect. Since I've gone into the test mode and rebooted the player I have noticed it freezing and crashing alot when selecting menus and selecting songs to play. one example is that I am in the SenseMe menu then I press a button to go into photos and press play/select. when I do that the player crashes/freezes and The buttons do not operate as the screen is in suspended animation I have pressed the reset button but I still get the same problem.

Please advise
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-07-2011, 10:16 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Heya Artmuzz...one of the first things I would check is to see if my mp3 tags and pictures are OK. Have you noticed any pattern to the crashes, in terms of specific images or songs? Not sure what images Sony S639 supports, but as a general rule, try to stay away from stuff like progressive jpgs - they can cause havoc on many players.

Not sure what else to suggest, sorry...
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-08-2011, 05:07 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Hi lestatar,

The problem also happens when I go into any folder like for example when I go into settings folder and go into common setting and then select unit information the player just freezes and crashes. Sometimes the player will just reboot and sometimes I have to reset it myself but the problem still persists. It's strange how I started getting this problem just after going into the players test mode function last night.

Last edited by Artmuzz; 05-08-2011 at 05:18 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:48 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hmmm, really wish I could help more Artmuzz...kinda ominous [coincidentally] that your issues cropped up after the test mode - any chance you made some kind of inadvertant change?

What is the hard reset for the Sony S639?
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:40 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Hmmm, really wish I could help more Artmuzz...kinda ominous [coincidentally] that your issues cropped up after the test mode - any chance you made some kind of inadvertant change?

What is the hard reset for the Sony S639?
It has a reset hole just like your Sony does. I don't even know how to go into this test mode, although I have heard of its existence....but now I will definitely not be exploring it further.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-09-2011, 04:57 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

My Sony S639f is working now I went back into the test mode settings and played about with the button test mode and rebooted. I no longer get any crashes or freezes.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.