android
  #1  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:54 AM
larrylwill larrylwill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default Fuse doesn't show new albums added

I have an 8gb sansa fuse. Its been working ok until today. I plugged it into the laptop opened the internal memory, music folder in my computer Win 7 and dragged and dropped 3 new albums in. The albums are formatted Artist, Album Name, songs. I unplugged it from the computer and It updated the internal memory.
I went to find the new albums and they are not showing under Albums or Artist.
I plugged it back into the computer and the new album folders are there. I have 1.5gb free.
Help please.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:05 AM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylwill View Post
I have an 8gb sansa fuse. Its been working ok until today. I plugged it into the laptop opened the internal memory, music folder in my computer Win 7 and dragged and dropped 3 new albums in. The albums are formatted Artist, Album Name, songs. I unplugged it from the computer and It updated the internal memory.
I went to find the new albums and they are not showing under Albums or Artist.
I plugged it back into the computer and the new album folders are there. I have 1.5gb free.
Help please.
Your tags may be corrupted.
Redo the tags & reload the files. I use MP3 Tag.
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:53 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

+1. Yep, good first step as coachop94 suggests.
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-20-2011, 08:19 AM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,472
Default

While incorrect tagging is a definite possibility, the whole Autodetect/MSC/MTP situation is another possibility.

I forget...does the Fuze have 'folder view'? If so, look for the files in folder view.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:47 AM
larrylwill larrylwill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

The tags are defiantly different, and no they do not show in folder view.
Im not up on tagging I do this for the wife and I have MP3Tag. Looking at some files on the Fuse the tags are different even some of the files from folder to folder and the version is also different ID3V2.3 for the old ones ID3V2.4 for the new ones. She might not even be able to listen to all that's on it.
Can some one tell me how step by step how to fix all the tags on the fuse so they are the same?
Do I have to copy all the folders off to my computer then change them then copy them back on one folder at a time? Mp3Tag wont read the folders on the fuse.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:17 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrylwill View Post
... Can some one tell me how step by step how to fix all the tags on the fuse so they are the same?
Do I have to copy all the folders off to my computer then change them then copy them back on one folder at a time? Mp3Tag wont read the folders on the fuse.
look here and post any specific questions there. I would say, take all the ones off your player to pc, make sure you know which tags work best and then retag everything before you reload and make sure your player does a refresh.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:20 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,472
Default

Just tried my Fuze with MP3Tag. Not recognized when the Fuze is in MTP mode, recognized in MSC mode (as I had guessed).

larrylwill...please check your Fuze. Is the USB mode set to MSC? MTP? Autodetect?

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:27 PM
larrylwill larrylwill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Steve: MTP, I just finished copying all my files 6.5gb off and started copying back with the 3 new albums I added, I just ran the auto numbering wizard on each and one was missing the album title for 3 songs which I fixed. After copying those 3 I found them on the Fuse, now Im copying all the rest.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:34 PM
larrylwill larrylwill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I removed all the folders and reformatted the Fuse. I then put all the folders back on using my computer. It appeared that they were all visible now. I did find a problem there was one folder with 11 albums in it. The artist showed up but also all the songs that were labeled as collaboration showed up separably as albums in the music. Like Joe Blow, Joe Blow & Low Blow, etc. This was under Artists. So I cut and pasted the folder off to the desk top and loaded each album in mp3 tag. I ran the auto renumber on each and copied them back and now they don't show up. I next tried to make a new folder and copy the albums in that one and again they don't show up. It appears every time I try to put a new album on the thing it doesn't show on the device but does show in my computer. It was there before but after deleting it and putting it back its not there. I bet I have to cut all the folders off and put them all back to get it to work. There are 5301 separate files in the Music Directory.
Those albums and Artist doesn't even show up under folders.

Last edited by larrylwill; 06-20-2011 at 10:48 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:46 PM
larrylwill larrylwill is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeZ5 View Post
Just tried my Fuze with MP3Tag. Not recognized when the Fuze is in MTP mode, recognized in MSC mode (as I had guessed).

larrylwill...please check your Fuze. Is the USB mode set to MSC? MTP? Autodetect?

Steve
BTW In MSC mode it recognizes it but you cant see any of the folders just the main directory. Music Videos etc.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.