android
  #1  
Old 01-03-2007, 02:04 AM
juzzyp juzzyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default WOOT!!....no volume limiter

At LAST!!!

After going through the forum I've downloaded the US firmware and my ZVM is so much louder, even the quieter stuff I had at 25 is now at 16!!!

How restrictive was the EU limit?????

Thanks again ABI gang, plus I like 1.61, the player actually feels stable now!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:48 AM
munkymaze's Avatar
munkymaze munkymaze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Juzzy where are you from?

Could you post the link please?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-03-2007, 07:19 PM
indie330 indie330 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Hi,

I initially downloaded the EU version of the firmware upgrade for my ZVM
60gb, but after reading Juzzyp's post I downloaded the firmware again from the US site. I don't think the volume is much louder than before. Am I missing something? (I hacked my old IPOD some time ago and its MUCH louder than the Zen...I don't want to blow my eardrums but it was nice to know the extra volume was there if I wanted it). What about Zen?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-03-2007, 07:32 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

You need to completely remove the firmware first. Boot into the Recovery Mode menu, select "Reload Firmware", and go from there.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-04-2007, 02:47 AM
juzzyp juzzyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Was a bit of a random post but I was so happy to get the volume removed.

Just make sure you select US as your country and not a EU country.

I'm based in London so I get the nanny firmware. Some of the earlier CD's particularly my 80's soundtrack stuff is very quiet so this was a relief that I didn't have to do a re-rip.

http://us.creative.com and click on support and go from there.

ZC and the rest of the regular ABI gang have posted about the procedure to do this, it's fiddly but follow it word for word and you'll be OK.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:56 AM
indie330 indie330 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenChick View Post
You need to completely remove the firmware first. Boot into the Recovery Mode menu, select "Reload Firmware", and go from there.
Hi,
Sorry for being a complete newbie, but could you please give me a step by step guide on how to do this....sorry...but thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:25 AM
juzzyp juzzyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 46
Default

I've just copied what I found from jconsortiums post on the subject

Quote:
How to remove European Volume Cap

1| Download the latest American firmware update (http://us.creative.com - and follow links to firmware update via the support section)
2| Detach the Zen Vision:M player from your computer, and ensure that the unit is off.
3| Slide the Power switch towards the Power icon and hold the switch in the Power On position.
4| Push the end of a pin-like object (for example, a straightened paper clip) into the reset hole, press gently and remove.
5| Release the Power switch when the Creative logo appears. The Recovery Mode appears and has these options:
* Clean Up (Performs a disk scan on the player's hard disk, it will not affect music files)
* Format All (Formats the players hard disk - Note: all contents will be lost)
* Reload Firmware (Reloads the Operating System on the Zen. Select this option ONLY if there is a firmware available to reload.)
* Reboot (Reboots the device).
6| Select reload firmware
7| Once done connect the player to your pc and run the American firmware upgrade
8| Leave it to do this and reboot, then rebuild, and voila all done
Another walkthrough HERE
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:29 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Thanks hon! I think I'm going to add that to the FAQ!
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:34 AM
indie330 indie330 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Brill....Thanks vmuch.



Coooooool! I tried it and it worked. Man, it's loud! Thanks.

Last edited by indie330; 01-04-2007 at 05:07 PM. Reason: to give feedback after trying suggestion
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-26-2015, 08:17 AM
Ebenwolfe Ebenwolfe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default Removing volume limiter on SVM30GB

Hi
I've been reading these entries with interest but I have a question.
I've been to the US site but the only firmware I can find is for a ZVM60GB. I have the 30GB model Id like to remoe limts on. Will the 60GB firmware work? If not is there another method/hack for removing the volume llimit or is te machine permanently stuck in geriatric mode?
If someone could answer I'd be most rateful
Many thanks
E
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.