android
  #1  
Old 08-23-2011, 12:36 PM
Medicine Melancholy Medicine Melancholy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Default Unreasonable times when skipping tracks

It can take anywhere from a full second to not at all when I'm skipping in shuffle mode. I never have this problem with the OF, and it was significantly less of an issue with my Clip+.

I've tried removing unnecessary tags etc. but it hasn't really helped much. I don't understand why the OF has no issue with this, but Rockbox struggles.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-27-2011, 10:56 AM
Medicine Melancholy Medicine Melancholy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Default

bump...

  #3  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:21 PM
skip252 skip252 is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,887
Default

Rockbox doesn't struggle with immediate playback in shuffle mode, your setup does. I have relatively current build and jump from track to track easily regardless of which mode I'm in. In fact I can't remember seeing a report of this since the directory cache was enabled by default quite a while ago.

I would guess there's something different about your setup. You would need to supply how it is you're set up for anyone to start to know what might be different that's causing your problem.

  #4  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:58 AM
Medicine Melancholy Medicine Melancholy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Default

I'm running the latest official build the updater gives me on a Sansa Fuze v1. That's about as bog standard as you can get, I don't see where I can have gone wrong or where I had the opportunity to "set it up" any different from anyone else.

What also bothers me is when I load on tracks when it's connected to USB in Rockbox mode, it'll power itself off. This seems amazingly stupid. I can manually change the timeout, but still, the OF doesn't do this.

  #5  
Old 09-28-2011, 10:11 AM
Medicine Melancholy Medicine Melancholy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Default

Okay, what the hell.

I checked Directory Cache to be in the safe side. It's not on by default. When I enable it -

*PANIC*

audio_reset_buffer_noalloc():E0M(3700 > 36720)

Sigh. I'll try older firmware.

  #6  
Old 09-28-2011, 10:20 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

Its probably easier for everyone if you put all the information in one thread, rather then putting the parts about USB not working in this thread, and the stuff about album art in the rockbox thread. I'm going to close this thread, so that everything can go here:

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/...topicseen.html
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.