android
  #1  
Old 10-01-2011, 01:51 PM
Skinkutter Skinkutter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhode Island USA
Posts: 19
Default Converting flac files

So, my brother in-law gave me a bunch of dvds with his music collection all in flac format, but my sansa wont play them. What is the est way to convert these to high quality playable files?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:02 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

If your player can be rockboxed, it can play them. Although it's over kill to carry such large files around and telling the difference is next to impossible. To answer your question, foobar2000 is very easy to do this with and it's free. Just google it up ... BTW there's a thread in the software forums that has a how to.

Edit: a quick skim I couldn't find the thread but it goes something like ... Download Foobar2000, download LAME Encoder and install. After you have installed Foobar2000, and have it running, open the flac files which you want to convert. Then right click on those tracks and select convert
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 10-01-2011 at 02:08 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:25 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinkutter View Post
So, my brother in-law gave me a bunch of dvds with his music collection all in flac format, but my sansa wont play them. What is the est way to convert these to high quality playable files?
If you have a Fuze, it should play them fine. WG is correct though, in saying that they are overkill for a portable player.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:33 PM
Skinkutter Skinkutter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhode Island USA
Posts: 19
Default

my fuze is brand new, so i'm not about to rockbox it just yet, but thanks for the info, i will look it up later.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-01-2011, 03:37 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinkutter View Post
my fuze is brand new, so i'm not about to rockbox it just yet, but thanks for the info, i will look it up later.
New or old if you're not confident or ready you shouldn't ever rockbox it. That said, if you mean new as in a Sansa Fuze+ then you can't rockbox it as the port isn't ready.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-01-2011, 05:33 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

WG's instructions on foobar2000 is pretty much correct. I would suggest, though, after installing LAME, copy LAME.exe from the folder that you installed it in and paste it into the foobar2000 program folder. Once you do that, you can select the LAME encoding option more easily in foobar.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.