android
  #1  
Old 10-22-2011, 07:52 AM
Khassan Khassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Help Galaxy Player 64GB?

I was reading about 64gb SD cards on http://androidcommunity.com/sandisk-...ices-20110927/ and was wondering do you guys think it'll work on the galaxy player?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-22-2011, 09:38 AM
sandro87 sandro87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 93
Default

If it supports SDXC cards yes
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 03:09 AM
Khassan Khassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Default

I hope it works because I don't want to carry my videos and music on two cards. I already had to clear 5 gbs of music and it's hard when most of my albums are rare.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 08:00 AM
KodiakEd KodiakEd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khassan View Post
I hope it works because I don't want to carry my videos and music on two cards. I already had to clear 5 gbs of music and it's hard when most of my albums are rare.
Try Google Music and push your tunes to the cloud. Then you can free up space on your SD card. It works nicely on my OG Droid.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-23-2011, 08:27 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Too bad Google Music is useless without either a constant data connection (3G, 4G, HSPA+, etc) or wifi.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-26-2011, 12:17 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 738
Default

Hopefully it does.

It would be nice if someone was brave enough to buy one of the cheap 64GB MicroSDXC cards and test it to see if it would work,then return it lol

The cheapest one right now is $169 and made by Kingmax on Amazon.com.

http://www.amazon.com/Kingmax-MicroS...9602325&sr=1-1

I've read a bunch of stuff on the Android phones that these work with,there is a possibility that it could work in the SGP.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7

Last edited by Lagoo56; 10-26-2011 at 12:37 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-27-2011, 04:55 AM
Khassan Khassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Hopefully the price of the SD cards will drop soon. I really want to try this out.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:50 AM
Sarracen Sarracen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagoo56 View Post
Hopefully it does.

It would be nice if someone was brave enough to buy one of the cheap 64GB MicroSDXC cards and test it to see if it would work,then return it lol

The cheapest one right now is $169 and made by Kingmax on Amazon.com.

http://www.amazon.com/Kingmax-MicroS...9602325&sr=1-1

I've read a bunch of stuff on the Android phones that these work with,there is a possibility that it could work in the SGP.
I'll be going to the yongsan electronics market the weekend after this one (have tests next week, otherwise I would go this weekend). If I can find a 64GB MicroSD, I'll buy it and give it a shot, and post the results here. Can't guarantee they will have one though.

Sadly, electronics are usually about 30% more expensive here in Korea, but it's still cheap enough that it warrants a trial >:]

Edit: Just read up on this, and apparently the hardware between the two chips is exactly the same, the only difference is the software and coding files used, or something. So even if the Galaxy player doesn't Natively support it, XDA should eventually come up with a fix through rooting. Good enough for me.

Last edited by Sarracen; 10-27-2011 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-28-2011, 05:26 AM
Khassan Khassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Default

I wish I knew how to root. I'm really afraid to break my 4.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-28-2011, 08:56 AM
Sarracen Sarracen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khassan View Post
I wish I knew how to root. I'm really afraid to break my 4.
I can't speak for other models, but if you have the Korean 4.0 running Froyo, it's as simple as downloading the latest version of superoneclick, plugging your device in in USB debugging mode, and then opening superoneclick and clicking "root".
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-28-2011, 04:59 PM
zacp2 zacp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khassan View Post
I wish I knew how to root. I'm really afraid to break my 4.
if you have an internationnal version with froyo (android 2.2) you can use superoneclick to root it
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-29-2011, 11:29 AM
doushixuwang doushixuwang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarracen View Post
I'll be going to the yongsan electronics market the weekend after this one (have tests next week, otherwise I would go this weekend). If I can find a 64GB MicroSD, I'll buy it and give it a shot, and post the results here. Can't guarantee they will have one though.

Sadly, electronics are usually about 30% more expensive here in Korea, but it's still cheap enough that it warrants a trial >:]
waiting for your good news!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-30-2011, 01:19 AM
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
XBlackChaosX XBlackChaosX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Same here because i wanna get one but that 8GB is what keeping me from getting it and samsung says that it will only support a max of 32GB on the micro SD slot. I hate that for phones and tablet most manufacturers are purposely limiting the micro sd slot to 32 gigs. So i'll be watching this thread closely to see if someone figures out how to do it on the US Version. If i can use a 64GB Micro SD card on this then i will get the GS player with a 32GB Micro Sd card and then in the future when prices for the 64GB micro SD card goes down then i'll get it.

Also has anyone successfully rooted there US version. I've been looking to see if Cyanogen supports this but unfortunately it doesn't, Guess because it is new here in the US.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-30-2011, 05:31 AM
Khassan Khassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Default

I too have the American version and it sucks to have 5 something gigs to use, 1 something of useless app storage. Oh yeah my music app which has the soundalive won't open because I have used all 5 gigs so I'm using the google music and at times doubletwist. I hope to get rooted soon.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:22 PM
Sarracen Sarracen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khassan View Post
I too have the American version and it sucks to have 5 something gigs to use, 1 something of useless app storage. Oh yeah my music app which has the soundalive won't open because I have used all 5 gigs so I'm using the google music and at times doubletwist. I hope to get rooted soon.
Cant you just invest in a 16 or 32 GB micro SD? It should at least add enough storage that you don't have to worry about 1 gig of app storage anymore...

Edit: Also it shouldn't matter if you have used all 5 gigs or not, you should still be able to open the music app and activate soundalive, as it's part of what's filling up that 5 gig of storage. If your RAM was all being used it might make sense, but that's a different beast entirely.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:31 PM
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
XBlackChaosX XBlackChaosX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Default

How easy is it to use up the ram oon the Samsung Galaxy player since it only has 384mb of ram?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-30-2011, 07:51 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBlackChaosX View Post
How easy is it to use up the ram oon the Samsung Galaxy player since it only has 384mb of ram?
Apparently not very easy. I haven't bumped into "low memory" warnings yet.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:11 PM
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
XBlackChaosX XBlackChaosX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Have you tried doing some extensive multitasking?
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:00 PM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

^ I did haven't got any warnings eithier.
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:14 PM
XBlackChaosX's Avatar
XBlackChaosX XBlackChaosX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Ok, Great to know, i thought that 384 was a little bit of ram. I still don't get why Samsung did not put 512MB of ram in there, i couldn't have cost alot from there side to do it. They should've gave the 5 a 512mb ram atleast.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
64 gb sdxc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.