android
  #1  
Old 04-16-2016, 11:45 AM
TheLongshot TheLongshot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Default Rockbox gets hosed. No .rockbox directory. Installation incomplete

This is now the second time it has happened. I will boot up my Zip Clip, and I will get the error "No .rockbox directory. Installation incomplete." The only way I resolved it last time it happened was to completely uninstall Rockbox and reinstall.

Right now, tho, I haven't been able to boot up the original firmware (stuck on Refreshing Your Media right now). I'm strongly suspecting that it is a hardware issue. Any advice is welcome.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-16-2016, 12:19 PM
G4Oblivion G4Oblivion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48
Default

The filesystem is likely corrupted.

1) Do not uninstall Rockbox again. The bootloader has a nice recovery mode that you don't want to lose.
2) Power off device, hold select and plug the Zip into Windows. The screen will probably be black but it should mount.
3) Check the filesystem for errors using chkdsk.
4) If the filesystem was corrupted, simply reinstall Rockbox (again, do not uninstall).

I suggest only using OFW when you connect your Zip to other devices if that was the issue; Rockbox's USB on the Zip isn't completely stable AFAIK.

If that wasn't the issue then report back. Checking whether the .rockbox directory actually exists would be nice, too.
__________________
My Rockbox Repository

Last edited by G4Oblivion; 04-16-2016 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-16-2016, 05:41 PM
TheLongshot TheLongshot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Default

Interestingly enough, the problem seems to have fixed itself. After trying to run the original firmware, I plugged it in using the Rockbox firmware and it loaded normally. I did a disc scan and it seemed to find errors and fix them. I since tried playing music and it seemed to work normally.

This is a better result than last time. The one thing I forgot to mention was that last time I had to format the player (using the original firmware) because while I could see the drive on my PC, I couldn't access anything on it.

I've always had some odd behavior with Rockbox and this player. At times it will just lock up for no reason in the middle of playing and I have to do a hard shutdown. There are also times it won't turn on and I basically have to do a hard shutdown to get it to turn on. I generally live with it because I like Rockbox and there are few options for MP3 players, but it is a pain.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-17-2016, 03:24 AM
G4Oblivion G4Oblivion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48
Default

There's a good chance the issues you experienced were because the filesystem was corrupted. As I said before, from now on only use the OFW when you connect your Zip to other devices (e.g. computer to transfer music) instead of Rockbox and always make sure to safely remove/eject the Zip from devices before unplugging.

Glad you were able to figure it out
__________________
My Rockbox Repository
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.