android
  #1  
Old 11-17-2011, 11:44 AM
gargola gargola is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Cool Rockbox on d3

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here and just trying my D3, have heard about Rockbox in the past and I would like install it on my D3, I went to the Rockbox site, then I downloaded the software and they ask me to tick my device but they only give these options iAudio X5, X5V, X5L, M5, M5L, M3 and M3L, so the D3 is not there lol. What should I do?

Thanks in advance for your help

Last edited by gargola; 11-17-2011 at 11:55 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:10 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

No rockbox for the d3 for now but if you want to try it out you could always buy an inexpensive player (even refurb). Something like the Sansa clip, clip+ or zip are probably the least expensive and all good players. There are other options as well but those might be the least expensive for now.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:21 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I believe Rockbox is available as an Android app for the D3, although I am not sure how well it works.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:25 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
I believe Rockbox is available as an Android app for the D3, although I am not sure how well it works.
Yes, look here but it's not released for prime time use.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-18-2011, 02:21 AM
TexasRockbox TexasRockbox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA (guess the state ;-) )
Posts: 218
Default

I have Rockbox installed on a Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 (Android 2.3.5) and it works quite well. Not everything is implemented but as a music player it does pretty good.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-18-2011, 04:22 PM
gargola gargola is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Walkgood, Marvin the martian, Texas rockbox for your help on that, I finally found how to do it, The rockbox was installed in the D3 as an android app, but it was so unstable that I had to reset the device a lot, I guess it's not ready for the D3 yet.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.