android
  #21  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:54 AM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

There seems to be a button on the left side so that probably turns it on and off.

Putting everything else aside though,I really like the overall design of it,its pretty and definitely not bad to stare at whatsoever or maybe this is because I prefer the color white over black like almost all the other tablets are lol
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 12-05-2011, 10:00 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

This actually justifies my decision to bypass buying from Cowon (D3 anyone???) and go get the Samsung Galaxy WiFi 5.0. I won't buy a Cowon again,...they truly are idiots.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:27 PM
SpeedBoy3 SpeedBoy3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Daegu, South Korea
Posts: 16
Default

This is a ridiculous and self-destructive step back for Cowon - even in the Korean market. Android is seeing great success in Korea. iPhones are the rage here, for sure, but all of the Korean companies supplying smartphones make great use of the platform and the people are certainly accustomed to it.

You also see a ton of the little dancing android robots outside of cellphone shops all over this country.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 12-06-2011, 06:39 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Engadget picked it up: http://www.engadget.com/2011/12/05/c...few-perplexed/
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 12-06-2011, 07:07 AM
RedlanceEQ RedlanceEQ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Default

That they did, but the comments are interesting. Apparently that Win CE (or Windows Mobile 6 some say) would not be as bad as people think it is and give much better battery life.

I'm guessing we will have to wait until review hit the web to see.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:46 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

PASS!!!
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:57 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,055
Default

Don't know why they didn't go with Android, especially they do have an Android player (D3). I now am fully convinced there are two separate teams working for Cowon, and the PMP team is light years behind the DAP team.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 12-06-2011, 09:41 AM
Urne's Avatar
Urne Urne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 247
Default

I personally don't mind whatever this thing runs of OS. If this PMP is fast, responsive and makes the user experience so much better then it would almost be a winner for me. But IMO The biggest issue is the low resolution screen. Would be interesting to know what panel this "Clear LCD" screen is using though.

Anyway, in the end If the rest hardware is crappy too I don't see a reason to bother... :/
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 12-06-2011, 05:47 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

Hopefully it has a capacitive touchscreen because those resistive screens they used on the O2 and V5 are getting too old lol
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:10 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagoo56 View Post
Hopefully it has a capacitive touchscreen because those resistive screens they used on the O2 and V5 are getting too old lol

I'm willing to bet the house the screen is resistive.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 12-07-2011, 06:02 AM
blcistheking's Avatar
blcistheking blcistheking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 270
Default

Lol'd hard at no wifi on a modern day tablet.
__________________
iPod Classic 160GB
Creative Zen Mozaic 16GB
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 12-07-2011, 07:11 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

My only real objection is the lack of wifi on this thing. In this day and age Cowon is still making old tech devices, and screw the sq. I mean, I could deal with the screen resolution, but get w/the times already.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 12-23-2011, 05:39 AM
dj christian dj christian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
My only real objection is the lack of wifi on this thing. In this day and age Cowon is still making old tech devices, and screw the sq. I mean, I could deal with the screen resolution, but get w/the times already.
Yea i don't see the point of SQ.

If you have to make any SQ adjustments it's something wrong with your headphones.

Basically any sort of BBE, Mach3Bass or SQ adjustments is pointless.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 12-23-2011, 05:41 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Maybe that goes for you, but other people might have different opinions.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 12-23-2011, 06:06 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj christian View Post
Yea i don't see the point of SQ.

If you have to make any SQ adjustments it's something wrong with your headphones.

Basically any sort of BBE, Mach3Bass or SQ adjustments is pointless.
Bite your tongue! EQ, BBE & Mach3Bass are powerful and effective tools in your sonic toolkit. Just because you don’t like them or possibly do not know how to use them does not make your statement correct. There are plenty of people with high quality headphones that enjoy them for sound enhancement & added enjoyment. It’s also nice to know that you can use these tools to correct a lacking sound or flaw on some headphones …
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 12-23-2011, 06:16 AM
dj christian dj christian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Bite your tongue! EQ, BBE & Mach3Bass are powerful and effective tools in your sonic toolkit. Just because you don’t like them or possibly do not know how to use them does not make your statement correct. There are plenty of people with high quality headphones that enjoy them for sound enhancement & added enjoyment. It’s also nice to know that you can use these tools to correct a lacking sound or flaw on some headphones …
Why alter music that's already been mastered in the studio.
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 12-23-2011, 06:29 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj christian View Post
Why alter music that's already been mastered in the studio.
How do you know that it wasn't already altered from what the musician intended, I've heard different versions of the same song, some I like and others I do not. Also we all hear differently and you are entitled to your opinion as much as I ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 12-23-2011, 06:52 AM
monterto monterto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj christian View Post
Yea i don't see the point of SQ.

If you have to make any SQ adjustments it's something wrong with your headphones.

Basically any sort of BBE, Mach3Bass or SQ adjustments is pointless.
Troll
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 12-23-2011, 07:03 AM
dj christian dj christian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monterto View Post
Troll

Are you stupid? You have no arguments for using SQ then who's the troll. Dumb...
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 12-23-2011, 07:05 AM
el maco's Avatar
el maco el maco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj christian View Post
Why alter music that's already been mastered in the studio.
You don't necessarily have to alter the sound away from the "intended studio sound", you can also aim towards it.

For example, I use the eq to compensate the bass roll-off of my PMP+IEM combo. Doing this will certainly bring the sound closer to the intended sound, not away from it. Also, in order to protect my hearing I also tend to use lower volume levels (compared to the reference volume level) which means that I need to apply some "loudness" eq shape to compensate the non-linearity of the human auditory system. In a purist sense, I think the only "true" way to listen to music would be in 100% acoustically treated room, using the same studio monitor speakers the sound engineer used when he mastered the album in question. Especially using headphones of any kind is wrong, because of the absense of the natural "crossfeed" between the left and right channel (i.e. HRTF). (Surely they use headphones in the studio, too, but I'd say virtually all recordings are optimized for playback with loudspeakers.) This, again, is an example of something that could be addressed with good signal processing.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.