android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung Galaxy Player Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 03-02-2012, 05:59 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

I now use PlayerPro and Audio FX widget alongside Voodoo Sound and the sound quality is sublime. It's like listening to music on my Hi-Fi and the SQ is up there with my Sony X1060 and Cowon J3. I only use Audio FX widget for the virtualizer.
__________________
DAP - Samsung Galaxy WiFi 4.0, Cowon D3, Sony X1060, Sony S639F, Sony A865, iPod 5G (Rockbox), Cowon J3, Sansa Clip+(Rockboxed), Sansa Fuze (Rockboxed), Apple iPod Touch 4G 64GB.

IEM - Sony EX310LP, Panasonic HJE900, JVC FXC80, Sennheiser CX300II
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #102  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:33 AM
Errol Errol is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Default

PowerAmp full version is on sale right now for $1.99 for 48hrs for anyone interested. Got mine.
Reply With Quote

  #103  
Old 03-03-2012, 12:36 PM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

Thanks! The second app I've purchased (in 1.5 years on Android). 1st was GrooveIP for $1.99 at Amazon a year ago, and now this! My other 150 free apps are great without having to pay.

edit: Sound is great... UI not so much. Widgets are bad compared to Cubed. I find the Play buttons way to large (and not real crisp looking). Too much info on the widget. Sound is what counts though! I'll probably keep both on my SGP5...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Errol View Post
PowerAmp full version is on sale right now for $1.99 for 48hrs for anyone interested. Got mine.

Last edited by tcat; 03-03-2012 at 01:10 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #104  
Old 03-03-2012, 04:48 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcat View Post
edit: Sound is great... UI not so much. Widgets are bad compared to Cubed. I find the Play buttons way to large (and not real crisp looking). Too much info on the widget. Sound is what counts though! I'll probably keep both on my SGP5...
I've come to the same conclusion. I think I'll be keeping both if I can get Cubed to work again. Interestingly enough, Poweramp works despite my current situation...
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #105  
Old 03-04-2012, 02:37 PM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

Cubed seems to use the internal media player for some things. I had an album art issue a while back and had a hard time figuring out what the problem was. I ended up deleting folders in android/data/com.android.providers.media/albumthumbs and once I directed Cubed to directory filter/external/ext_sd only, art seemed to be OK after that. If you uninstalled Cubed, be sure to get rid of the rockon folder too. Just wish PA would work on the UI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
I'm having a little issue with Cubed. Since this morning, the only thing it identifies is something called "assets" and doesn't play. Anyone have a clue? I have tried wiping the cache using Titanium Backup, uninstalling, reinstalling, all to no avail. Anyone have any ideas? Rockbox detects the music, the stock player just crashes...
Reply With Quote

  #106  
Old 03-04-2012, 03:10 PM
dmack_ca dmack_ca is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woer View Post
Both PlayerPro and Poweramp have it. You can set next/back to "Long press" of the volume buttons or to "double/triple press". In PlayerPro, there's a setting to have just shaking the phone play the next song.
Where's the option in Poweramp to set that up with the volume buttons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TapperP View Post
Poweramp is OK, I even bought the unlocker for $5.

However since then I have noticed it uses a lot of CPU time; generally between 20% and 30% or more. Even with the equalizer off it uses at least 10% - 20%. I have also found that the stock player uses 0% CPU, and with Voodoo installed the sound is awesome already. Given the 4.0's lesser battery life, I don't use Poweramp now. Too bad I paid for it.
I noticed this too, it's a drag but I can still get a couple of days' worth of playing out of it before I have to charge it.
Reply With Quote

  #107  
Old 03-04-2012, 05:01 PM
Endlessnameless Endlessnameless is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I really like cloudskipper, its free and feature packed. The only thing I have noticed is that when I turn the eq on, the music starts to skip. This is a shame as the sound is vastly improved over the stock sound. I've emailed the developers and have not received a response back and was wondering if you guys have encountered this problem and/or know of a work around.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote

  #108  
Old 03-04-2012, 07:30 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

I found same issue and dumped it for poweramp.
Reply With Quote

  #109  
Old 03-05-2012, 09:12 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

poweramp does the same skip thing as cloudskipper for me it doesn't happen too often anymore though so i stick with the free cloudskipper. lately though I have been using winamp and an equalizer app just called equalizer. it seems to be quite similar to cloudskippers equalizer in sound quality and effects.
Reply With Quote

  #110  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:09 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

I still get the occasional skipping with PowerAMP as well,... That's a main reason I still miss my iPhone.
Reply With Quote

  #111  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:42 AM
Errol Errol is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Does anyone know if PowerAmp has a feature to level the volume between tracks? I looked through the settings and didn't see anything.
When I play it in shuffle mode, one track is sometimes lounder than the next.
Otherwise, I'm loving PowerAmp.
Reply With Quote

  #112  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:45 AM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

I also wish they had this but i cant find any kind of volume leveler in the app
Reply With Quote

  #113  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:58 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Errol View Post
Does anyone know if PowerAmp has a feature to level the volume between tracks? I looked through the settings and didn't see anything.
When I play it in shuffle mode, one track is sometimes lounder than the next.
Otherwise, I'm loving PowerAmp.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post
I also wish they had this but i cant find any kind of volume leveler in the app
There is.....it's called ReplayGain. You just need to have all your files properly scanned and tagged with ReplayGain first.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #114  
Old 03-12-2012, 04:17 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

PowerAMP decided to stop being able to verify its license this morning after oh, five days using it. I absolutely loved it. Well, I'll put up with this a few times (uninstall, reinstall) but any more times, I'm just gonna go back to Cubed and Rockbox and be happy.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #115  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:45 PM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

I've actually been enjoying N7 the past few days. Even after buying PowerAmp, I think I like the UI and sound quality better. The UI on Cubed is still the best, but can seem to navigate better on N7, and SQ is better than Cubed IMO.
Reply With Quote

  #116  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:56 PM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I still get the occasional skipping with PowerAMP as well,... That's a main reason I still miss my iPhone.
Changing the setting in "audio buffer size" doesn't improve the skipping?
Reply With Quote

  #117  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:14 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
There is.....it's called ReplayGain. You just need to have all your files properly scanned and tagged with ReplayGain first.
So where do you find this and how do you go about it?All my music is already in my 5.0.
Reply With Quote

  #118  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:01 PM
maixiu maixiu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Are there any free music players that allow folder browsing? I'm shocked that the built-in music player doesn't (it's the first mp3 player/PMP I've ever owned that doesn't) allow this. Winamp's Pro version, $4.99, uses this as a selling point. Really? I'm supposed to pay $5 to use the folders that I've already taken the time to set up and add to the player?
Reply With Quote

  #119  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:58 PM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

The "N7" I mentioned does folder browsing.

Reply With Quote

  #120  
Old 10-17-2012, 09:00 PM
cn11's Avatar
cn11 cn11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 59
Default

Apologies for reviving a slightly old thread, but I just recently downloaded Cubed player on my new-ish Sony F806, and holy crap it's sonically heads and shoulders above anything I've tried. That includes Neutron, PlayerPro, Poweramp, Winamp, and even Sony's stock player which some users say sounds the cleanest of anything.

The Cubed player is noticeably more open and spacious sounding, with great detail. It's just excellent, and really furthers the enjoyment I'm getting with my F806 and Fitear TG!334 iem's.

I'm finding the features a bit limited though, with no ability to manually scan through a track, let alone even displaying the track time, or elapsed time.

But because of being so impressed by the sound, I emailed the developer to ask about any future feature development... Unfortunately he got back and said that any work on it has been on hold for a while, with no plans to pick it back up. But he was glad to hear I'm enjoying the sound so much.
__________________
Phones--> T50RP RP2 // TG!334 // MG6Pro // GR07 // IE8
Sources/Amps--> F806 // X1060 // Objective2 // AMB M^3 // Arrow 3G
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.