android
Old 12-28-2011, 08:09 PM

Default Anyone know how to stop music player?

I can't figure out how to stop the music player other than to pause, then use "task manager" to exit program.

Is there a better way to do this?

Help.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-28-2011, 08:24 PM

Hit Pause. You can kill it with task manager but it's not necessary.

Old 12-28-2011, 08:45 PM

Forgive me, as I am new to the android world, but will hitting pause cause player to use battery or degrade other processes because it's still technically running? Will it just drop off on its own from non-use (not hitting play for example)?

Thanks!

Old 12-28-2011, 11:10 PM

Once you stop the music (pause, or exit if there is one), the app should stop using any power. The android system is smart enough to turn things on and off to maximize resources. Lots of folks believe that using task killers just increases battery drain due to apps having to restart (and many restart anyway), and the task killer app itself running...

Old 12-29-2011, 12:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcat View Post
Once you stop the music (pause, or exit if there is one), the app should stop using any power. The android system is smart enough to turn things on and off to maximize resources. Lots of folks believe that using task killers just increases battery drain due to apps having to restart (and many restart anyway), and the task killer app itself running...
Tcat - I just installed a task killer because I read an article that said it helps decrease battery drain. If this is not the case, then I will uninstall it. I do see that there are apps running when I look at the Task Killer list that I did not start. I very much want to conserve battery power - delete Task Killer???

Old 12-29-2011, 08:30 AM
Ultra Senior Member