android
  #1  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:21 PM
69z28rsss 69z28rsss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Default uninstalled rockbox, problem

I just used rockbox utility to uninstall rockbox. Now when I turn it on it says loading firmware not found, In rockbox. If I hold in a button it will start in the original firmware. What do I have to do so rockbox is completely gone ? And I did uninstall rockbox first, Then the bootloader....
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:28 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,603
Default

Copy a new firmware file over to the player. IIRC the uninstall for rbutil should have done this, but maybe something went wrong.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:43 PM
69z28rsss 69z28rsss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Default

I installed the latest version of operating system. Still wants to start in rockbox. After the message I said it read before then it says to plug usb cable.. I am clueless....
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:47 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,603
Default

Two possibilities:

You installed a patched firmware (e.g. one that includes rockbox).
The firmware you tried to install didn't actually install.

Hard to say which it is from your limited description.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-12-2012, 07:51 PM
69z28rsss 69z28rsss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Default

When I install new firmware, Should I be in the rockbox screen or The sansa screen? Other than that what info do you need .....Please... The firmware I installed was from sandisk website
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:01 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,603
Default

Its not possible to install the sandisk firmware from Rockbox, and you said that you can't boot into rockbox anyway so that shouldn't be an issue.

You said above that you installed the latest version of the sandisk firmware. I'm guessing from your question that you didn't actually do that. What happens if you boot into the sandisk software, copy a fresh sandisk firmware file over, and then reboot?
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-14-2012, 04:35 PM
69z28rsss 69z28rsss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Default

All set, I'm not real great at this stuff. But I did get it. Thanks for the help...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-14-2012, 06:43 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Why did you uninstall rockbox?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:55 PM
69z28rsss 69z28rsss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Default

I dont have anything against rockbox, But i was having trouble navigating around on it. I will most likely reinstall it later, But I just wanted to get some music on my zip in a hurry. I do have it installed on my i river h10. That seemed very easy when I did it, About a year ago. I know it is nice operating system, But I was just having trouble with it. ( again it's not rockbox it's me )
I will try again later when I'm not in a big yank.....
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.