android
  #1  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:28 PM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default PowerAmp red in task manager - normal?

PowerAmp is red in task manager even though I have everything else turned off. No other apps are running nor active. Is this normal? It says RAM 27.58mb and CPU 27.30% (it varies a little). Is it because it's using up too much battery? I'm listening through the speakers and volume is set at one third.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:49 PM
greenman greenman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 59
Default

I wonder what else is running in the background. I'm assuming you're using Go Launcher EX. When you click the app drawer icon and go to the 'running' button, what do you see running?
__________________
-------------------------------
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0
Gingerbread 2.3.5
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:55 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

I've seen the same thing on mine sometimes but for various apps,I'm assuming that happens when an app is taking up alot of CPU or RAM space.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-27-2012, 07:38 AM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Its normal
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-27-2012, 03:47 PM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

Well, it's not in the red because I was playing FLAC, it happens with 256kbps MP3s too. I'll give Go Laucher EX a try to see if it'll find any unnecessary active apps, thanks, greenman.

PowerAmp is an app I'll use all the time, will it wear out the processor and/or battery much faster than normal? I was on the point of buying it, but now I'm having second thoughts. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-29-2012, 01:15 PM
Goucham's Avatar
Goucham Goucham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jamaica, W.I.
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceramic View Post
PowerAmp is red in task manager even though I have everything else turned off. No other apps are running nor active. Is this normal? It says RAM 27.58mb and CPU 27.30% (it varies a little). Is it because it's using up too much battery? I'm listening through the speakers and volume is set at one third.
The task manager CPU indicator starts redlining at 10% (which is a little ridiculous if you ask me.) If utilization is only at 27.30% then I wouldn't worry about it. If you were pegging at 90% then I think you'd have something you'd need to look into.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-29-2012, 03:24 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Mine has gone into red with other music apps like TTPOD and Cubed.Nothing to pay attention to
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-30-2012, 03:21 AM
dmack_ca dmack_ca is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 64
Default

Does that not indicate that the battery is being drained a lot?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:29 AM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Never really noticed but perhaps if you close everything but poweramp when using it that might help.No real way to avoid it going into red so i just ignore it.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:41 AM
Ceramic Ceramic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 98
Default

Winamp, the free/trial version does the same thing. I've noticed that the native music player doesn't go into the red and CPU usage is at 0.00%. Strange. I'll stick with PowerAmp since it's still the best sounding player and has many great features. If I want to conserve battery power, I'll just use the native player. Thanks for the replies guys.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:08 AM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

cloudskipper doesn't go red for me all other players except stock player do though
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-30-2012, 10:43 AM
Goucham's Avatar
Goucham Goucham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jamaica, W.I.
Posts: 167
Default

PowerAmp consuming more CPU cycles than the stock player isn't surprising as it uses custom audio processing routines. It doesn't make it bad, it just means that it uses functions that have to be processed on the main CPU instead of just outputting what comes through the audio codec (at least that is my best guess.)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-30-2012, 02:43 PM
gupti's Avatar
gupti gupti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 171
Default

PowerAmp is the best sounding player (that I have found), but at the price of the battery. It is the second user of battery on my device, after the display, with 12%. When I'm away from an outlet for a long time, the stock player does its job fairly well.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.